Tuesday, January 14, 2020

Yoshiaki Masuo & Joe Chambers - 1981 - New York Concerto

Yoshiaki Masuo & Joe Chambers
New York Concerto

01. Irina 6:26
02. Two Hearts 3:28
03. Like Sonny 4:40
04. Visions 5:48
05. A Night Has A Thousand Eyes 5:03
06. Concerto De Aranjuez 15:14
07. Dhabihu 2:53
08. Autumn In New York 6:29

Alto Saxophone, Flute – Sonny Fortune
Bass – Eddie Gomez
Drums, Vibraphone– Joe Chambers
Guitar – Yoshiaki Masuo
Percussion – Ray Mantilla
Piano, Electric Piano – Kenny Barron

Recorded June 11 & 12 at Van Gelder Studio, New Jersey

Yoshiaki Masuo & Jan Hammer - 1980 - Finger Dancing

Yoshiaki Masuo & Jan Hammer
Finger Dancing

01. Waiting No More
02. All Right
03. Young Filly
04. Let Us Go
05. A Little Bit More
06. Sunshine Avenue

Drums – Tony Cintron, Jr.
Electric Bass – Russel Blake
Electric Guitar – Yoshiaki Masuo
Keyboards [Oberheim, Mini Moog, Yamaha Cp70] – Jan Hammer

Yoshiaki Masuo - 1980 - Masuo Live

Yoshiaki Masuo
Masuo Live

01. Dealing With Life 7:33
02. Good Morning 6:31
03. Look Away From Me / A Threesome 8:38
04. I Will Find A Place / Viento Fresco 25:53

Drums – Robbie Gonzales
Electric Bass – T.M. Stevens
Electric Guitar – Motoaki Masuo, Yoshiaki Masuo
Electric Piano, Organ – Victor Bruce Godsey
Percussion, Synthesizer – Shirley

Yoshiaki Masuo - 1979 - Sunshine Avenue

Yoshiaki Masuo 
Sunshine Avenue

01. Sunshine Avenue
02. Your Love Is Never Ending
03. A Threesome
04. Look To Me (And See The Sun)
05. Someone
06. I Will Find A Place

YOSHIAKI MASUO (el.g, ac.g, solina, perc)
VICTOR BRUCE GODSEY (ac.p, el.p, clavinet, vocal)
T.M. STEVENS (el.b , piccolo bass)

Recorded at Electric Lady Studios, NY 1979

Yoshiaki Masuo - 1979 - Good Morning

Yoshiaki Masuo 
Good Morning

01. (I'm Still) Believing In Dreams
02. Good Morning
03. Because Of You
04. Inside Love
05. Little Bit
06. Dealing With Life
07. Little Bit More

Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar, Synthesizer – Motoaki Masuo
Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar, Synthesizer, Percussion, Vocals – Yoshiaki Masuo
Backing Vocals – Josan
Drums, Congas – Robbie Gonzales
Electric Bass, Bass [Piccolo] – T.M. Stevens
Harp – Margaret Ross
Organ [Hammond] – Delie
Percussion – Shirley Masuo
Piano, Electric Piano – Victor Bruce Godsey

Fusion heyday 80s. . . The catch phrase on the LP band of this work was written, such as opening the dawn of the 1980s. This work itself was produced in the late 70's, but the wakamonos at the time praised that `` Masu of the world '' was not at all defeated by international leaders such as Lee Ritner and Larry Carlton, I heard this work. With this, when I listen to it, there is even an atmosphere that is “modern” or cool.

Beginning with a large-scale song “(I'M STILL) BELIEVING IN DREAMS” that decorates the opening beautifully, it continues to the title tune where even a magnificent feeling is felt and a beautiful morning is imaged. Up to 3 songs were on the A side of the LP. The B side was good, but I remember the memories of repeating the A side in the LP era. Even the fusion album at the time when hits appeared one after another, I think that it was the highest standard work. Still a masterpiece! And exhilaration is outstanding.

In the 70's, I was in the Progressive Rock Party in a copy band of Jesus, but this work that I encountered after becoming an adult was somewhat shocking. Creating exhilarating sound with high sensitivity and skill and comfort in Japanese. . . The album "Sailing wonder", released two years ago, was hit with the support of Dave Grusin and "MASUO" was already famous, but this album was a better work, and I was more complete. I thought it was a wonderful work.

If you buy one piece of "Masu of the world", I think that this is it. When I was a young man, I purchased several LPs before and after, but I became an old man and bought this one. It is a piece of emotional reunion after 30 years.
Early 80's. . . It is a "fusion masterpiece created by the Japanese" that captivated the young people of Japan at the time. It is a masterpiece!

Yoshiaki Masuo - 1977 - Sailing Wonder

Yoshiaki Masuo
Sailing Wonder

01.   Sailing Wonder
02.  Treasure Island
03.  Shootin' The Breeze
04.  Nature's Anthem
05.  Kirk Out
06.  Cracker Jack
07.  Viento Fresco (for Sonny)

Drums – Steve Gadd
Electric Bass – Gordon Edwards
Electric Guitar – Eric Gale, Yoshiaki Masuo
Liner Notes – Yozo Iwanami
Synth – Dave Grusin

Yoshiaki Masuo - 1975 - 111 Sullivan Street

Yoshiaki Masuo
111 Sullivan Street

01. Swing 42 0:27
02. God Bless The Child 6:12
03. Like Someone In Love 7:56
04. Look For The Silver Lining 6:59
05. Washington Square Blues 6:40
06. Reminiscence 8:28
07. West Side Highway 2:10
08. Without A Song 6:48

Alto Saxophone – Bob Mover (tracks: A1, A3, B2, B4)
Bass – Bob Cranshaw (tracks: A2, A4, B1), Yoshio Suzuki (tracks: A1, A3, B4)
Drums – David Lee (tracks: A2, A4, B1), Jim Lovelace (tracks: A1, A3, B4)
Guitar – Yoshiaki Masuo

Recorded September 27,28, 1975 at Basement Studio, NYC