Wednesday, February 19, 2020

Grupa Organowa Krzysztofa Sadowskiego - 1972 - Na Kosmodromie

Grupa Organowa Krzysztofa Sadowskiego 
Na Kosmodromie

01. Na Kosmodromie = On The Cosmodrome
02. Alpha Centauri
03. Wam Jest Do Śmiechu, Mnie Nie = You Feel Like Laughing But I Don't
04. Straight Life
05. Dalarna
06. Blues X

Alto Saxophone [Alto Sax], Piano – Włodzimierz Nahorny
Bass Guitar – Paweł Dąbrowski
Congas [Conga] – Józef Gawrych
Drums – Tomasz Butowtt
Organ [Hammond] – Krzysztof Sadowski
Trumpet – Eddie Engels
Vocals, Flute – Liliana Urbańska

Recorded at 03.1972, Warszawa Polskie Nagrania

Second solo album by Polish Jazz keyboardist / composer Krzysztof Sadowski recorded with an ensemble called Organ Group, which also included flautist / vocalist Liliana Urbanska, Dutch trumpeter Eddie Engels, saxophonist Wlodzimierz Nahorny, bass guitarist Pawel Dabrowski, drummer Tomasz Butowtt and congas player Jozef Gawrych.

This album was not released at the time as part of the legendary "Polish Jazz" series, for reasons that are way beyond the scope of this text. The original album included only six tracks, the first of which gave the album its title and was a twenty minutes long six parts suite originally found on side A of the LP. The five tracks on side B were all much shorter. All the compositions were originals, four composed by Sadowski and one each by Nahorny and Engels. This remastered reissue adds three bonus tracks recorded at the Polish Radio.

By the time this album was released the Polish Jazz scene was in a state of upheaval, torn between two extremes: Free Jazz on one side and Jazz-Rock Fusion on the other. Strangely this album presents a bit of both, since although conceptually belonging to the Jazz-Rock Fusion genre it features a few Free Form solos. Obviously Sadowski was shifting his organ playing stylistics from the traditional influences (Jimmy Smith) towards (then) contemporary keyboard approach represented by Herbie Hancock or Weather Report's Joe Zawinul. The use of vocalese, which was one of the trademarks of Polish Jazz at the time, utilized extensively by Urszula Dudziak in Michal Urbaniak's ensemble, is only one of the parallels between these two pioneering Fusion bands active at the time.

The space exploration, which seems a bit strange as a subject matter of a Jazz album, was at the time one of the main pillars of the Socialist propaganda, which excitedly participated in the space race between USSR and USA, with an obvious winning side. Picking such a subject increased of course significantly the possibility to have one's music released by the State controlled solitary record company in existence at the time in Poland (Polskie Nagrania).

In retrospect the album is a great document of the time at which it was recorded, proving that in spite of the relative separation from what was happing beyond the Iron Curtain, Polish Jazz was responding rapidly to the changes in the Jazz idiom, often with ferocity and ingenuity, which were impossible to hold back by the political regime.

As usual it is my duty to thank GAD Records for taking care of the Polish Jazz heritage, who is sadly a lonely rider on that trail. This superb music definitely needs to be fondly remembered and discovered by new generations!



  2. Many Thanks, CC - I love the blog and have you linked on - I would be honored if you added RFW to your blogroll. Rock On! D

  3. Many thanks, I have the wonderful album put poor sound quality