Wednesday, March 27, 2019

Kebnekajse - 1975 - III


01. Leksands Brudmarsch (4:17)
02. Polska Från Härjedalen (3:06)
03. Eklundapolskan (4:14)
04. S:t John (3:48)
05. Skänklåt Till Spleman (3:06)
06. Polska Från Bingsjö (3:15)
07. Balladen Om Björnbär Och Nätmelor (13:07)
08. Mariamá (3:05)

Bonus Track on 2001 CD release:
09. Gånglåt Från Dala-Järna (7:54)

- Kenny Håkansson / guitar, violin, vocals
- Ingemar Böcker / guitar, sambaros
- Mats Glenngård / guitar, fiddle, mandolin, vocals
- Pelle Lindström / fiddle, harmonica, tambourine, vocals
- Thomas Netzler / bass, drums, vocals
- Göran Lagerberg / bass, vocals
- Pelle Ekman / drums, vocals
- Hassan Bah / congas, timbales, congoma, klocka, vocals

After such a stunning second album, I was hot on the heels in finding their next album, but when I did find it, deception was at hand. Do not get me wrong this album's content is a pure and excellent folk album, but I was expecting amore of what Kebnekaise had given us on their previous album, this superb fusion of folk, psych rock and Latino beats. So past the initial deception, this album is not quite the same, but it is sticking (much) closer to trad folk, which of course makes it of a much lesser interest for the proghead.

Although we can still feel the influence of their superb preceding album, as in a few tracks, Harjedaien or Eklundapolska , the album could be seen as serious step backwards if one did not understand that Kebnekaise's goal was a return to origins. You can get a better idea of this by listening to Spelman or Bingsjo. However, the centrepiece of the album is the 13-min Bjornbar, which makes the album worthwhile even if not quite as essential as their previous effort.

Still definitely worth the occasional spin in your deck, this album is for confirmed fans of folk and by the same path of folk prog. But start with their second album or better yet try the electric mountain compilation. Further albums will be more world music-influenced, just thought I'd warn you.

1 comment: