Sunday, March 10, 2019

Caesar Frazier - 1978 - Another Life

Caesar Frazier
Another Life

01. Child Of The Wind 7:33
02. Lady 6:00
03. Ha-Ha, Ya (You Make Me Happy) 5:27
04. Another Life 3:43
05. Till Another Day 4:34
06. I Got To Have Your Love 4:04
07. Just A Little Bit Longer 4:49
08. Another Life 2:50

No info on my album on musicians or recording dates... any help appreciated!

Buy it because you love his two funky mid 70's works (available on an excellent double album reissue.) Love it for "Another Life" and "Gonna Lay It on Ya". Completely unlike his previous work. Slick. In between some standard period (nevertheless authentic, if you're into that) saccharine soul there's just enough tasty funkiness to make it worth picking up.

There are some truly great turn-arounds in the world (but as Scotland have just failed to do that against England I can't quite place them) - and Caesar Frazier's conversion from funky Hammond to golden soulster is up there. Sure, all sorts of Hammond players have sung, but when Frazier came to make his third album for Westbound (the first two are available as CDSEWD 047) he made a full conversion. That he did so may be unusual but that he carried it off with such aplomb is a marvel. One that we can now share with you.

The album itself has been a long time favourite amongst lovers of two-step soul, with the title track being bootlegged at the height of the rare groove craze. It is a prime slice of Detroit soul - with sterling arrangements by Westbound regular Mike

Theodore and Motown stalwart David Van Pitte (the man who arranged Marvin Gaye's What's Going On). The opening cut, Child Of The Wind, is a storming piece of soul disco, whilst Till Another Day and the title track are soul as good as you will find anywhere. But the thing that astounds with this album is not the individual stand-out cuts but that the album is so consistently good.

For this, the album's first reissue, we have tracked down the previously unreleased Gonna Lay It On Ya Baby and so we have given you the final instalment of CF's Westbound recordings. He is now a TV weatherman in California - and these were, we believe, his last recordings. Well, Caesar, thanks. 

By Dean Rudland

1 comment: