Sunday, November 18, 2018

Chet Baker - 1955 - Gerry Mulligan Quartet featuring Chet Baker

Chet Baker 
Gerry Mulligan Quartet featuring Chet Baker

01. Frenesi 3:05
02. Nights At The Turntable 2:48
03. Lullaby Of The Leaves 3:15
04. Jeru 2:26
05. Cherry 2:57
06. Swinghouse 2:52
07. I May Be Wrong 2:55
08. Aren't You Glad You're You 2:52
09. I'm Beginning To See The Light 3:02
10. The Nearness Of You 2:48
11. Makin' Whoopee 3:22
12. Tea For Two 2:45

Baritone Saxophone – Gerry Mulligan
Bass – Bob Whitlock (tracks: A1 to A3, B2), Carson Smith (tracks: A4 to A6, B1, B3 to B6)
Drums – Chico Hamilton (tracks: A1 to A3, B2), Larry Bunker (tracks: A4 to A6, B1, B3 to B6)
Trumpet – Chet Baker

A full LP that collects together earlier recordings by Mulligan – done in the years 1952 and 1953, with a quartet that features Chet Baker, and bass by either Carson Smith or Bob Whitlock, and drums by either Larry Bunker or Chico Hamilton. Both Mulligan and Baker recorded together a number of times after this, in a "reunion" style that hearkened back to the fame of these sides – but the originals are still the best, and feature a magical pairing of two gentle jazz talents in a laidback piano-less setting.

1 comment: