Saturday, October 27, 2018

Moonstruck - 1976 - Moonstruck


01. Opus 1
02. Slidin'
03. Rondo In G Major
04. Cog
05. My Mother Forgot To Tie My Shoes This Morning
06. Oceans Notions
07. Dance Of The Aardvarks
08. The Joker And The King
09. Gord's Tune
10. Interlude In F Major
11. A Space In Time
12. Invention
13. Heather

Gordon Tucker (Guitar, Bass, Vocals)
Daniel Iceton (Drums)
William Wallingham (Guitar, Bass, Flute)
Tony Murphy (piano, mellotron).

* Original founding members, drummer Dean MacDonald and bassist Bo Hanson left the band just before this album was recorded.

Lunatunes Records SAR-2003,  1976 original issue Private pressing (Canada)
Very rare mid 70's Private pressing from Nova Scotia (Canada).

Instrumental Progressive Rock with strong guitar, flutes, piano and some mellotron with Jazzy overtones (their sole release). Starting off as a cover band in Eastern Canada, Moonstruck quickly morphed into a tight progressive outfit playing small live gigs in the region.   However, without a recording contract, the group privately recorded/pressed these 13 tracks at Solar Audio & Recording (*SAR) studios in Halifax, composing all their own tracks, self-producing and self-financing the effort on their own "Lunatunes" label, reportedly pressing only around 500 copies.
Solar is well known in Canadian vinyl collectors' circles for having pressed some of Canada's rarest LP's to come out of the Atlantic provinces (Blue Max, Happy Dolls, Moonstruck, Molly Oliver (EP), etc).

1 comment: