Thursday, July 26, 2018

Jan Ptaszyn Wroblewski - 1973 - Sprzedawcy Glonow

Jan Ptaszyn Wroblewski 
Sprzedawcy Glonow

01. Sprzedaz Glonów (Seaweed Sale) 6:18
02. Bez Wyciszenia (No Fade Out) 6:04
03. Cytat Z Samego Siebie (Quotation From Myself) 9:09
04. Wyznacznik Pierwszy (Determinant One) 9:50
05. Jan Szpargatol Mahawisnia 6:26
06. Magma 5:18

Alto Saxophone, Flute – Wlodzimierz Nahorny (tracks: A1 to B3)
Alto Saxophone, Flute – Zbigniew Namyslowski (tracks: A1 to B3)
Alto Saxophone, Violin – Zbigniew Seifert (tracks: A2, A3, B3)
Baritone Saxophone, Clarinet – Waldemar Kurpinski (tracks: A1, A3 to B3)
Bass – Bronislaw Suchanek (tracks: A3, B2, B3)
Bass – Pawel Jarzebski (tracks: A1, A2, B1, B2)
Drums – Czeslaw Bartkowski (tracks: A1, B1)
Drums – Janusz Stefanski (tracks: A2, A3, B2, B3)
Electric Piano [Fender] – Adam Makowicz (tracks: B1)
French Horn – Dariusz Filiochowski (tracks: A1, A3, B2, B3)
French Horn – Dariusz Szewczyk (tracks: B1)
Guitar – Marek Blizinski (tracks: A1, B1, B2)
Organ [Hammond] – Wojciech Karolak (tracks: A1, B2)
Percussion – Czeslaw Bartkowski (tracks: B2)
Percussion – Kazimierz Jonkisz (tracks: A1, A3 to B3)
Piano – Andrzej Trzaskowski (tracks: B3)
Soprano Saxophone, Violin – Michal Urbaniak (tracks: A1, A2)
Tenor Saxophone – Jan "Ptaszyn" Wróblewski (tracks: A1, A2, B1, B3)
Tenor Saxophone, Soprano Clarinet, Bass Clarinet – Tomasz Szukalski (tracks: A1, A3 to B3)
Tenor Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone, Flute – Janusz Muniak (tracks: A2, A3, B2, B3)
Trombone – Andrzej Brzeski (tracks: A1 to B1, B3)
Trombone – Andrzej Piela (tracks: A2, A3, B2, B3)
Trombone – Jan Jarczyk (tracks: A1, B1, B2)
Trombone – Stanislaw Cieslak (tracks: A1 to B3)
Trumpet – Bogdan Dembek (tracks: A1, A3 to B3)
Trumpet – Boguslaw Skawina (tracks: A2)
Trumpet – Józef Grabarski (tracks: A1)
Trumpet – Laco Deczi (tracks: B2)
Trumpet – Stanislaw Mizeracki (tracks: A1 to B1, B3)
Trumpet – Tomasz Stanko (tracks: A2 to B1, B3)
Tuba – Zdzislaw Piernik (tracks: A2, A3, B2, B3)

Recorded at Polish Radio.
Tracks recorded on:
A1 - 30th May 1973
A2 - 3rd February 1971
A3 - 10th February 1973
B1 - 12th April 1973
B2 - 21st October 1973
B3 - 8th February 1973

This relatively little known brilliant album presents Polish Jazz saxophonist / composer / arranger / bandleader Jan Ptaszyn Wroblewski mainly in the capacity as the director of the Polish Radio Jazz Orchestra, a superb collection of top musicians, which functioned as a catalyst and incubator to generations of Polish Jazz musicians as well as a first rate workshop and recording platform. Wroblewski, one of Polish Jazz veterans and Godfathers, led the orchestra for many years with great success and these recordings prove how great it really was. He also composed three of the six extended compositions included here with the other three composed by Tomasz Stanko, Zbigniew Namyslowski and Andrzej Trzaskowski each contributing one composition. The arrangements are absolutely brilliant as are the performances, with the orchestra fronted as such first rate soloists like Stanko, Namyslowski, Michal Urbaniak (playing sax on one track and violin on another), Tomasz Szukalski, Adam Makowicz, Marek Blizinski, Wojciech Karolak, Zbigniew Seifert and of course Wroblewski himself, in short the crème de la crème of the Polish Jazz scene at the time. The music is very modern and even borders on Free at times, presenting very rare examples of Jazz orchestra accompanying a freely improvising soloist. This album is an absolute must to all Polish Jazz lovers and in retrospect is of the best Polish Jazz albums ever recorded. Grab it!