Friday, March 2, 2018

Sonia Rosa with Yuji Ohno - 1974 - Spiced with Brazil

Sonia Rosa with Yuji Ohno 
Spiced with Brazil

01. Garota De Ipanema
02. Here's That Rainy Day
03. Don't Let Me Be Lonely Tonight
04. Secret Love
05. Corcovado
06. Casa Forte
07. Atras Da Porta
08. You Make Me Feel Brand New
09. Chove Là Fora

Sonia Rosa_vocal, guitar
Yuji Ohno_keyboards
Tsuyoshi Yamamoto_acoustic piano (track 6)
Akira Okazawa_electric bass
Isoo Fukui_acoustic bass
Takao Naoi_Gut & folk guitar
Tsunehide Matsuki_electric guitar (tracks 3 & 8)
Kazuyoshi Okayama_drums
Larry Sunaga, Pepe Anai & Fujio Saitoh_latin percussion 
Keiko Yamakawa_harp
Gaishi Ishibashi_oboe

Sonia Rosa recorded her first album with Chiquinho De Moraes in 1967, before she left Brazil for Japan at the age of 20 years old, Spice With Brazil is her best-known album. She had the opportunity to sing on various Yuji Ohno's albums as Space Kid (1978) and more recently, on original soundtrack of TV Special 'Lupin III Episode 0 First Contact' (2002), whose some songs will appear later on Lupin The Third [JAZZ] : Bossa & Fusion album. She's surrounded by a large ensemble of musicians featuring future members of You & The Explosion Band (Akira Okazawa, Larry Sunaga, Pepe Anai, Tsunehide Matsuki), plus backing vocals supported by Time Five. To approximate the typical sound of the famous Bossa Nova productions released under the Verve label during the sixties, Ohno recruited a set of string instruments gathered in the Ohno Group and conducted by himself. Titles include classics of Bossa Nova from Antonio Carlos Jobim, Luiz Bonfa, Chico Buarque & Edu Lobo, jazz standard of Jimmy Van Heusen (Here's That Rainy Day) and pop covers by James Taylor (Don't Let Me Be Lonely Tonight) and Linda Creed (You Make Me Feel Brand New). Others titles include also some solo performances by Tsuyoshi Yamamoto with great piano improvisations, alongside Ohno, on the classic of Edu Lobo, Casa Forte (and Sonia Rosa's scat singing likewise). All tracks arranged and conducted by Yuji Ohno except Chove Là Fora by Sonia Rosa.