Tuesday, March 27, 2018

Sir Roland Hanna - 1978 - This Must Be Love

Sir Roland Hanna
This Must Be Love

01. Orange Funk
02. This Can't Be Love
03. It's A Small World
04. The Interloper
05. It Never Entered My Mind
06. Thou Swell
07. I Didn't Know What Time It Was
08. Dancing On The Ceiling
09. My Romance

10. This Can't Be Love (Alt - Take 1)
11. It's A Small World (Alt - Take 1)
12. Dancing On The Ceiling (Alt - Take 3)
13. My Romance (Alt - Take 1)

Recorded February 2, 1978 in New York City

Sir Roland Hanna: piano
George Mraz: bass
Ben Riley: drums

Originally recorded for Progressive and reissued by the Audiophile label, this set matches the talented pianist Sir Roland Hanna with bassist George Mraz and drummer Ben Riley. Together they perform six Rodgers and Hart songs (including "This Can't Be Love," "Thou Swell" and "Dancing On the Ceiling"), along with three of Hanna's originals. The musicians are heard throughout in top form, often speaking in a single voice. Excellent modern mainstream music.

1 comment: