Sunday, February 25, 2018

Add 4 - 1964 - The Add 4 First Album

Add 4 
The Add 4 First Album

01. 비속의 女人 / The Woman in Rain
02. 우체통 / The Letter Box
03. 傷處입은 사랑 / Suffered Love
04. 소야 어서가자 / Let's Go, Cow
05. 늦으면 큰일나요 / Do Not Be Late
06. 天使도 사랑을 할까요 / Would Angels Feel Love
07. 그리운 그님아 / My Yearning Dear
08. 커피한잔 (내속을 태우는 구려) /  A Cup of Coffee (It Makes me Feel Frustrated)
09. 나도 같이 걷고싶네 / I Want to Have a Walk Together Too
10. 故鄕길 / The Road to Hometown
11. 그대와 둘이 앉으면 / When I Sit Down Together with You
12. 쓸쓸한 土曜日밤 / Lonely Saturday Night
13. 바닷가 / The Seashore
14. 굿나잇 등불을 끕니다 / Good Night I'm Turning the Light Off

Bass: Han Joong Hyun
Guitar: Shin Joong Hyun 
Guitar, Vocal: Seo Jung-Gil 
Drums: Kwan Sun-Kwan

The Add 4 is considered as the first rock group formed in the Republic of Korea. This band was formed in 1962 by "the founder of Korean rock", Shin Jung-hyeon. He started his music career with a nickname called "Jacky" in the US forces Korea from 1955, when he was 17 years old. Actually, he had already published his solo album called "Hiki Shin Guitar Melody" in 1959. The reason why he is considered as the founder of Korean rock is because of not only that he introduced rock music into Korea first, but also the unique style of his music. That is why he was the first Asian artist who was given a Custom Shop Tribute Guitar by Fender(We will have more closer look at him later).

This album has really huge importance in Korean pop music history, as it was the first rock band music album in the Republic of Korea. All the songs featured in this album were originally composed by band members; in other words, there was no copy nor cover song in this album. What is more, the featured songs were brand-new considering the time period as most tracks are based on rhythm & blues style which only few has introduced in Korea at that time. The greatness of the album can be proven by numerous cover songs; especially, one of the most famous songs in this album, 비속의 女人 (The Woman in Rain) has been remade by 장현 (Jang Hyeon), 김목경 (Kim Mok Kyung) , Galaxy Express, and etc. Also, this album features 커피한잔 (A Cup of Coffee), which was later sung by Pearl Sisters who made the revival of Soul music during 1960s and 1970s. After this album, the Add 4 called themselves as 'The Ventures of Korea.'

This is a really interesting and enjoyable album from early Korean rock, under the influence of rock’n roll, late twist area, at times the pre-Beatles area mostly some tracks more in the crooner/pop song music area. The guitars are attractive and calm, the percussion is interesting as well. They play a bit like a soft rock band with a primitive honesty like in garage rock, but in a more subtle way and also a more sophisticated way of performance, more like a TV show band, while in fact with a more wild, honest and creative side. Some tracks have nice harmony backing vocals, with some small parts of well fitting backing orchestration, and occasional instruments like twist’n roll sax or piano arrangements. The more song/chanson tracks are mostly sung by a female voice. A very enjoyable, rewarding release.

1 comment: