Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Crawler - 2002 - Live at Agora Club 1978

Live at Agora Club 1978

01. Without You Babe – 3:23
02. You Got Money – 3:20
03. Keep On Running – 5:02
04. You And Me – 6:30
05. You Are My Saviour – 4:48
06. Pastime Dreamer – 4:34
07. Never Loved A Woman – 4:28
08. Blues My Guitar – 6:26
09. Worn Out Dream – 4:29
10. Stone Cold Sober – 3:33
11. Blue Soul – 10:23
12. Selfish Lover – 3:23

- Terry Slesser / vocals
- Geoff Whitehorn / guitar
- John Rabbit Bundrick / keyboards
- Terry Wilson / bass
- Tony Braunagel / drums

This live recording at the “Agora Club” from 1978, was the first-ever band authorised live album.

CRAWLER rose phoenix-like from the ashes of Back Street Crawler after Paul Kossoff's untimely death. They made two excellent albums and toured extensively through 1977/8 giving consistently first-rate performances. The first self-titled album went silver in the US and spawned the AOR radio hit 'Stone Cold Sober'. Appearances on 'The Old Grey Whistle Test' and 'Rock Goes To College' also established them as one of the better bands from this period.

The line-up was enough to make any rock fan's mouth water: John 'Rabbit' Bundrick had been with Free, released two very good solo albums of his own, and appeared on enough sessions to make anyone's head spin. Paul Kossoff had personally chosen Terry Wilson Slesser to front Back Street Crawler out of numerous candidates. He had come from Beckett who had a great debut sucked under when their label folded. Terry Wilson (no relation) and Tony Braunagel formed a watertight rhtyhm section and had been playing together in various guises since the early 70s, initially with a band called Bloontz. The final member, and Kossoff replacement was the excellent Geoff Whitehorn. Guitar player extraordinaire Whitehorn had served a fine apprenticeship with If before joining up with Maggie Bell. More recently, Geoff has been Paul Rodgers' regular guitarist.

Crawler was one of the most consistently solid live bands around. performances were never less than excellent.This Angel Air release is the first-ever band authorised live CD.

Crawler - 2001 - Snakebite Live 1978

Snakebite Live 1978

01. Keep On Runnin’ – 5:42
02. Sail On – 5:31
03. One Way Street – 5:02
04. Where Is The Money – 4:53
05. Muddy Walters – 4:49
06. Liar – 4:48
07. How Will You Do It – 4:30
08. The Shape I’m In – 3:26
09. First Class Operator – 3:51
10. Stone Cold Sober – 7:49

- Terry Slesser / vocals
- Geoff Whitehorn / guitar
- John Rabbit Bundrick / keyboards
- Terry Wilson / bass
- Tony Braunagel / drums

By 1978, when this recording was made, Crawler stood extremely tight to shoot for funky “How Will You Do It?” or Otis Blackwell’s classic “The Shape I’m In”. But there wasn’t that much of blues anymore, exemplifying Crawler’s jazzy approach. Terry Slesser’s voice excels bouncing easily off Rabbit’s bar piano in “Keep On Running”.

Always behind big names, John Bundrick proves himself an artful composer and keyboards virtuoso in one short organ solo, like one of “One Way Street”, pushing feelings to the edge. Complementing him, Whitehorn runs for edgy riffs too to make “You Got Money” angular enough, Terry Wilson’s bass smoothing off the spikes.

With all this, Sex Pistols’ “Liar” doesn’t come as the major surprise demonstrating mainstream group’s broad view on music, not only punk heroes’ gift for a tunesmithery, vocal harmonies and Tony Braunagel’s imaginative drumming underscoring the song’s pop catchiness.

There’s always something special, like “Sail On”, which equals its Free namesake and blistering boogie “First Class Operator”. Then, creeping “Stone Cold Sober” bites no less than “Stone Cold Fever” – even now, shaking, rattling and rolling down the years.

Recorded live in Denver in 1978, the “Snakebite” album shows what discipline makes to a band.

Crawler - 1997 - Pastime Dreamer Live

Pastime Dreamer Live

01. How Will You Break My Heart – 5:14
02. Where Is The Money – 4:40
03. You And Me – 9:13
04. Devil Run – 4:52
05. The Shape I’m In – 3:30
06. First Class Operator – 3:41
07. Sold On Down The Line – 3:22
08. Pastime Dreamer – 4:26
09. Never Loved A Woman – 3:56
10. Blues My Guitar – 6:50
11. Blue Soul – 11:42
12. Worn Out Dream – 4:44
13. Stone Cold Sober – 7:38
14. Radio Interviews (Bonus) – 3:07

Terry Slesser / vocals
Geoff Whitehorn / guitar
John Rabbit Bundrick / keyboards
Terry Wilson / bass
Tony Braunagel / drums

Recorded live in 1977, the “Pastime Dreamer” album showcases yet another solid performance by the underrated classic rock band Crawler.

Bundrick’s keyboard adventures shines with plenty of cool intros, solos, moog, hammond, etc… The band seems to be enjoying playing together, as on the extended “Blue Soul”. Crawler could go from funky tunes to blues to rock, with a number of great tunes like “Where Is The Money”, “Devil Run”, “Never Loved A Woman” and the lead off track “How Will You Break My Heart”.

13 tunes, as well as a bonus radio interview segment makes you craving more for Crawler shows.

Originally downloaded this from te old Sakalli blog... took a while before I could find myself a cd copy, really greatful to Sakalli for introducing me to a lot of albums that I had never heard, He is one of the reasons why I started this blog... a lot of the original reviews on it (as this one) I lifted straigt from his when he stopped posting. Is he still around?