Tuesday, September 5, 2017

Baba Yaga - 1978 - On the Edge

Baba Yaga 
On the Edge

01. Charlotte's Web
02. Sweet Beginnings
03. Terra
04. Too Cool To Be True
05. Monogamy - Shbedogamy
06. Smoke
07. A Little Bit Of Something Special
08. Old Woman
09. Nomi
10. Rise Again

Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar, Bass, Vocals, Accordion, Percussion – Barbara Galloway
Congas, Vocals, Percussion – Jan Cornall
Drums – Janet (Jake) Lampert, Maia McNamara
Electric Bass, Classical Guitar, Vocals, Percussion – Susan Colson
Flute, Percussion, Vocals – Nancy Cady
Piano [Acoustic], Percussion – Kiera O'Hara
Soprano Saxophone, Alto Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone, Vocals, Percussion – Patti Vincent
Trumpet, Trombone, Percussion, Vocals – Bonnie Kovaleff
Violin – Niobe Erebor

A rare gem of the famous feminist label Olivia Records - only drive feminine jazz-rock band from Portland, formed in 1975, in the main composed of six girlfriends, and the album is the fruit of three years of work of the staff, attended four more virgins. Producer of the album, too lady. Based on the fact that the two men guitarists involved in the creation of the group was soon driven out of it, and according to the specialization of the label. But despite this, the album is very high quality and they managed to mix whimsical musical genres such as rock, jazz, blues motifs with Latin, folk, pop and even AOR. Many wind (various saxophones, trumpet, trombone, flute), lyrical female vocal, even good instrumental pieces and cozy warm atmosphere. Sometimes there are excellent satirical texts in the spirit of militant feminism and Frank Zappa type things Monogamy Schdedogamy, which his accordion rhythms reminiscent of crazy cabaret. Vocals a bit, but it's pretty lyrical and pleasing to the ear.