Thursday, March 30, 2017

Weldon Irvine - 1974 - Cosmic Vortex (Justice Divine)

Weldon Irvine 
Cosmic Vortex (Justice Divine)

01. Love Your Brother 5:15
02. Walk That Walk; Talk That Talk 7:50
03. Love Jones 4:11
04. I'll Name It Tomorrow 2:50
05. Cosmic Vortex (Justice Divine) 8:45
06. Quiet (In Memory Of Duke Ellington) 5:06
07. Let Yourself Be Free 4:30
08. Love Your Brother (Sanctified Version) 1:30

Backing Vocals – Ojuleba
Bass – Bob Cranshaw
Bongos – Bud Johnson, Jr.
Drums – Wesley 'Gator' Watson
Electric Piano, Clavinet, Soprano Saxophone – Weldon Irvine
Flute – Bill Barnwell
Guitar – Henry Grate, Jr.
Percussion – Napoleon Revels
Tenor Saxophone – Gene Jefferson
Trumpet – Jimmy Owens, Roy Roman
Vocals, Backing Vocals – Nalo
Bass – Gordon Edwards
Drums – Jim Young

After two visionary LPs for his own tiny Nodlew label, Weldon Irvine signed to RCA for Cosmic Vortex (Justice Divine), exploring the deeply spiritual and political terrain of his previous efforts on the kind of grand musical scale that major-label funding accommodates. This is a big, bold record by any measure, with a startlingly pronounced focus on lyrics and vocals. At the same time, however, the melodies spread out like tentacles, informed by the improvisational sensibilities of jazz and the deep-groove spirit of funk.



  2. Looking forward to this one.Thanks very much.