Wednesday, March 29, 2017

Reuben Wilson - 1972 - The Sweet Life

Reuben Wilson 
The Sweet Life

01. Inner City Blues 4:45
02. Creampuff 5:30
03. Sugar 6:09
04. I'll Take You There 6:25
05. The Sweet Life 6:11
06. Never Can Say Goodbye 4:15

Bass – Mickey Bass
Drums – Thomas Derrick
Guitar – Lloyd Davis
Organ – Reuben Wilson
Tenor Saxophone – Ramon Morris
Trumpet – Bill Hardman

After a series of sugary soul-jazz dates for Blue Note, Reuben Wilson resurfaced on Groove Merchant with The Sweet Life. The title notwithstanding, the session is his darkest and hardest-edged to date, complete with a physicality missing from previous efforts. Credit tenor saxophonist Ramon Morris, trumpeter Bill Hardman, guitarist Lloyd Davis, bassist Mickey Bass, and drummer Thomas Derrick, whose skin-tight grooves sand away the polished contours of Wilson's organ solos to reveal their diamond-sharp corners. The material, while predictable (i.e., standbys like "Inner City Blues" and "Never Can Say Goodbye"), is nevertheless well suited to the set's righteous funk sound.

1 comment: