Tuesday, March 28, 2017

O'Donel Levy - 1972 - Dawn Of A New Day

O'Donel Levy 
Dawn Of A New Day

01. Dawn Of A New Day 4:11
02. Baa Waa 3:39
03. I Wanna Be Where You Are 3:31
04. Where Is The Love 2:33
05. People Make The World Go Round 4:40
06. Maiden Voyage 5:48
07. Super Woman 4:41
08. I Want To Make It With You 3:42
09. Goin On To Detroit 4:16

Bass – George Russell
Drums – Chester Thompson
Guitar – O'Donel Levy
Organ, Electric Piano – Charles Covington
Trombone – William Watrous, Eddie Burt, Wayne Andre
Trumpet – Burt Collins, Cecil Bridgewater, Jon Faddis, Marvin Stamm

Dawn of a New Day expands the Baroque funk horizons introduced on the brilliant Breeding of Mind, O'Donel Levy's previous collaboration with arranger Manny Albam. A bigger, bolder effort, Dawn's panoramic sound also borrows much from blaxploitation cinema. Joined by collaborators including trumpeter Cecil Bridgewater and organist Charles Covington, Levy's remarkable leads seem to cut and paste elements from across the history of jazz guitar, most closely recalling the lean, mean genius of Wes Montgomery and Grant Green. His solos are graceful yet muscular, each note crackling with energy. The material here is also excellent, sidestepping the usual Groove Merchant soul and pop warhorses in favor of material including "Maiden Voyage" and "People Make the World Go Around." Levy's originals are also strong, in particular the title cut.

1 comment: