Tuesday, March 28, 2017

George Freeman - 1974 - Man & Woman

George Freeman
Man & Woman

01. Till There Was You 5:07
02. You've Changed 5:53
03. I Ain't Got Nobody 4:31
04. Groovy Lady 4:49
05. Funny How Time Slips Away 5:08
06. Squeeze Me 6:04
07. Stardust 4:00
08. Georgia On My Mind 6:07

Bass – Bobby Cranshaw
Drums – Bernard Trapps (tracks: B2, B4), Buddy Williams (tracks: A1 to B1, B3)
Electric Piano – Kenny Baron
Guitar – George Freeman
Piano [Acoustic], Electric Piano – Harold Mabern Jr.

While Man & Woman embraces a mellower approach than guitarist George Freeman's other Groove Merchant dates, it's by no means the late-night boudoir record its erotic cover suggests -- the stripped-down, nuanced sound instead adheres to a relatively straightforward soul-jazz formula, more focused and earthbound in its orientation than the average Freeman session. Teaming here with pianists Harold Mabern and Kenny Barron, bassist Bob Cranshaw, and drummer Buddy Williams, the guitarist embraces the change of pace, settling comfortably into the music's slow, slinky grooves -- not only are his solos as imaginative as before, but they also boast a rippling sensuality otherwise absent from his previous records.

1 comment: