Monday, March 27, 2017

Charles McPherson - 1977 - New Horizons

Charles McPherson 
New Horizons

01. Promise 5:02
02. I'll Never Stop Loving You 4:17
03. Night Eyes 9:38
04. Horizons 5:19
05. Samba D'Orfeo 6:56
06. Dee Blues 8:13

Charles McPherson - alto sax
Mickey Tucker - piano
Cecil McBee - bass
Freddie Waits - drums

Recorded September 28, 1977

One of the top bop-oriented altoists of the 1960s, '70s, '80s and '90s, Charles McPherson recorded some of his finest records during his period with the Xanadu label. For this quartet set with pianist Mickey Tucker, bassist Cecil McBee and drummer Freddie Waits, McPherson performs four excellent originals ("Promise" and "Dee Blues" are well worth reviving), plus "I'll Never Stop Loving You" and "Samba D'Orfeo." The music is typically swinging and has its exciting moments.

1 comment: