Monday, March 27, 2017

Charles McPherson - 1972 - Siku Ya Bibi (Day Of The Lady)

Charles McPherson 
Siku Ya Bibi (Day Of The Lady)

01. Don't Explain
02. Lover Man (Oh Where Can You Be)
03. God Bless The Child
04. Miss Brown To You
05. Good Morning Heartache
06. For Heaven's Sake
07. I'm A Fool To Want You
08. Lover Come Back To Me

Alto Saxophone – Charles McPherson
Bass – Sam Jones
Drums – Leroy Williams
Guitar – Earl Dunbar
Piano – Barry Harris

For the second of his three Mainstream sessions (one that has been reissued on CD), the bebop altoist Charles McPherson pays tribute to Billie Holiday; in fact, "Siku Ya Bibi" means "Day of the Lady" in Swahili. The emphasis is mostly on ballads, with "Miss Brown to You" and "Lover Come Back to Me" being exceptions. Four of the eight selections find McPherson backed by ten strings arranged by Ernie Wilkins, while the remainder of the date has the altoist joined by a rhythm section that includes pianist Barry Harris. Although not quite up to the level of his upcoming, more freewheeling Xanadu sessions, this is a fine outing. Highlights include the two aforementioned cooking pieces, "Lover Man," "Good Morning Heartache," and "I'm a Fool to Want You."

1 comment: