Monday, March 27, 2017

Charles McPherson - 1968 - From This Moment On!

Charles McPherson 
From This Moment On!

01. Little Sugar Baby 3:14
02. Once In A Lifetime 5:11
03. The Good Life 6:30
04. I Like The Way You Shake That Thing 3:14
05. From This Moment On 3:32
06. Without You 7:10
07. You've Changed 6:15
Recorded January 31, 1968.

Alto Saxophone – Charles McPherson
Bass – Peck Morrison
Drums – Lenny McBrowne
Guitar – Pat Martino
Piano – Cedar Walton

Some of the songs on this set by bop-influenced altoist Charles McPherson (reissued on CD in 1997) use boogaloo and pop rhythms. The repertoire ranges from a couple of OK originals ("Little Sugar Baby" and "Like the Way You Shake That Thing") to a recent show tune ("Once in a Lifetime") and a few standards. Pianist Cedar Walton, the young guitarist Pat Martino, bassist Peck Morrison and drummer Lennie McBrowne form the strong supporting cast. Not one of McPherson's most essential releases, as the material and arrangements are just not that strong; nevertheless, the altoist still plays well, and his fans will want to pick up this reissue.

1 comment: