Friday, February 3, 2017

Jiro Inagaki & His Soul Media with Yasushi Sawada - 1972 - Dock of My Mind

Jiro Inagaki & His Soul Media with Yasushi Sawada
Dock of My Mind

01. Dock of My Mind (4:16)
02. Afternoon (4:26)
03. Barefoot Girl (3:43)
04. Colourful Winds (3:27)
05. Send Me Love (3:17)
06. If You Should Go Away (2:59)
07. Lane of Memories (3:09)
08. One Last Word (2:53)
09. Lonely Night (2:45)
10. Down by the Corner (2:48)
11. Rainy Night in Georgia (3:50)
12. Georgia on My Mind (4:38)
13. Orange no Hitokakera (2:59)
14. Hito ha Dare Mo (3:28)

Jiro Inagaki_tenor & soprano saxophone, flute
Tsunehide Matsuki & Kimio Mizutani _guitar
Hiro Yanagida_organ
Hideaki Takebe_bass
Kiyoshi Tanaka_drums
Masahiko Sato_moog synthesizer

Originally released as LP(JDX-7006) Oct 25, 1972.
Track 13, 14 : originally released as single (P-226) Jul 1, 1973.

The funky group of Jiro Inagaki gets a vocal treatment this time around – lead lyrics from Yasushi Sawada, whose a raspy-voiced singer with a surprisingly soulful edge! Much of the music follows in the same territory of Inagaki's instrumental records – with his group turning in a cool tripped-out blend of soul, funk, and jazz – often with some slight psych elements in the guitars and keyboards – as Sawada's Japanese lyrics bring a very unusual flavor to the record, and make the whole thing feel like some dream-like remake of an American funky soul album! Titles include "Afternoon", "Barefoot Girl", "Dock Of My Mind", "One Last Word", "Send Me Love", and "Colorful Winds". CD also features two bonus tracks from singles too!



  2. Thanks for post.. found it just now.. I'm liking this!