Thursday, January 26, 2017

The 31st Of February - 1968 - The 31st Of February

The 31st Of February 
The 31st Of February 

01. Sand Castles
02. Porcelain Mirrors
03. Broken Day
04. Wrong
05. The Greener Isle
06. Codeine
07. A Different Kind of Head
08. Pedestals
09. Free
10. A Nickel's Worth of Benny's Help
11. Pick a Gripe
12. Cries of Treason
13. In he Morning WHen I'm Real

The 31st of February
*Scott Boyer - Guitar, Vocals
*David Brown - Bass, Sax
*Butch Trucks - Drums

Additional musicians
*Benny Latimore - Organ
*Bobby Puccetti - Organ

The 31st of February consisted of Charles Scott Boyer (vocals, 12-string guitar, songwriter), David Brown (bass guitar, tenor saxaphone, songwriter) and Butch Trucks, Jr. (drums, songwriter). Recorded at Henry Stone's studio in 1968 and produced by Steve Alaimo and Brad Shapiro. They first recorded at Henry Stone's original upstairs eight-track studio.

The 31st of February album, yielded one of Florida's greatest rock gems, "Sandcastles." "Sandcastles" was an incredible, haunting masterpiece filled with the sound of seagulls, surf and a hypnotic organ riff. During the sessions, the trio utilized the great talents of south Florida musicians Benny Latimore and Bobby Puccetti on organ.

Singer/guitarist Scott Boyer, bassist David Brown, and drummer Butch Trucks met in 1966 while students at Florida State University. Discovering a mutual interest in music the trio decided to form a band. Borrowing a page from The Byrds folk-rock catalog, as The Bitter Ind the three started playing parties, dances, and clubs. They quickly graduated to local clubs and eventually scored a recording contract that saw the release of a one-shot single for the small Memphis-based ACP label:
- 1967's 'Hands Are Only To See' b/w 'Baby Blue' (ACP catalog number 380)
That 'success' led Boyer to drop out of school with The Bitter Ind subsequnelty morphing into The Tiffany System. Under the new name the trio started their recording careers with an instantly obscure single for the Florida-based Minaret label:
- 1968's 'Let's Get Together' b/w 'Wayward One' (Minaret catalog number MIN-128).
While the single did little commercially, by 1968 the trio had generated a large following in their native Jacksonville, Florida. Opting for yet another name change they relocating to Miami and as The 31st of February (anyone know the significance?), signed a recording contract with the Vanguard Records.
Co-produced by Steve Alaimo and Mike Shapiro, 1969's "The 31st of February" has always struck me as an undiscovered gem. Performed with considerable enthusiasm, the collection was varied and energetic. Boyer had a great voice, that occasionally reminded me of a more commercial Greg Allman, perfectly suited for the band's excursions into Byrds-styled folk-rock ('Porcelain Mirrors' and 'A Different Kind of Head'), progressive ('Treason') and psyche ('A Nickel's Worth of Benny's Help'). Elsewhere, the standout tracks may have been Brown's stomping 'Wrong' and the trio's ghostly cover of Buffy Sainte Marie's 'Co'dine'. Among the few missteps; Brown's 'Broken Day' was a little too sensitive singer/songwriter, while the band's cover of Jackie DeShannon's 'The Greener Isle' (good taste in outside material), came off as MOR (blame Shelby SIngleton's overwhelming string arrangement). Unfortunately, the set generated little in the way of sales.
Following the collapse of their own band Hour Glass, Duane and Gregg Allman returned to Florida. Having known Trucks for years, they helped The 31st of February record material for what was planned as their sophomore release. The project never saw the light of day as internal disagreements saw the band fold in 1969 at which time the tapes were shelved. Drummer Trucks then joined the newly formed Allman Brothers Band and following Duane Allman's untimely 1971 death, the Florida based Bold label somehow acquired the tapes releasing the material as a Duane and Greg Allman album - "Greg and Duane Allman".