Monday, December 5, 2016

Boogaloo Joe Jones - 1971 - What It Is

Boogaloo Joe Jones 
What It Is

01. Ain't No Sunshine    5:30
02. I Feel The Earth Move    6:10
03. Fadin'    7:00
04. What It Is    7:00
05. Let Them Talk    5:45
06. Inside Job    6:15

Bass – Jimmy Lewis
Congas, Bongos – Buddy Caldwell
Drums – Bernard Purdie
Guitar – Ivan 'Boogaloo' Joe Jones
Organ – Butch Cornell
Producer – Bob Porter
Tenor Saxophone – Grover Washington, Jr.

Using the same personnel as he did on his fifth Prestige album (1970s No Way!), Jones offers more good-natured funk-soul-jazz on this 1971 session. After getting a couple of contemporary pop covers (of Bill Withers' "Ain't No Sunshine" and Carole King's "I Feel the Earth Move") out of the way, it's mostly Jones originals. On his slower moments, as in "Fadin'" and Sonny Thompson's "Let Them Talk," he shows the influence of straight jazz players such as Wes Montgomery; "What It Is" and "Inside Job" are more cut-to-the-chase funk riffs. Jones has his cult following, but as soul-jazz goes, this is kind of run of the mill: good for background, but not captivating foreground listening.