Thursday, November 17, 2016

Compost - 1972 - Compost


01. Take Off Your Body
02. Thinkin'
03. Bwaata
04. Happy Peace
05. Country Song
06. Sweet Berry Wine
07. Funky Feet
08. Inflation Blues

Bob Moses - drums, vocals
Jack Gregg - bass
Harold Vick - tenor sax, flute
Jack DeJohnette - drums, organ, clavinet
Jumma Santos - congas, percussion

You can call this a supergroup. Lots of well known names in jazz. Jack DeJohnette and Jumma Santos played together during the Bitches Brew sessions with Miles Davis. Bob Moses began his career with Rahsaan Roland Kirk and later on with Gary Burton. Harold Vick played with Grant Green, Jack McDuff and many more.

These musicians found each other and called themselves Compost. A dirty word for an amazing band. Two drummers in the group, but one of them does the vocals and drums. Bob Moses picks up the vocals on this album. He isn’t always on the spot and doesn’t always deliver the right sound, but you can’t blame him for trying.

Clearly you can hear the fun of the bandmembers on this album. Take Off Your Body kicks it off and attracts your attention. Speedy groove, funky clavinet, uptempo bass parts, crazy lyrics by Bob. Very African groove with a psychedelic twist. A lot of songs are just joyful. You can hear the African influence, but also folk, rock and funk. Bob Moses isn’t the best singer, but his vocals cheers you up. Plus the uptempo percussions and groovy clavinet. Highlights are Take Off Your Body and Funky Feet. No difficult lyrics or complex beats. It’s Jazz-Fusion but in a hippie mode kind of way.

1 comment: