Thursday, October 20, 2016

Kush - 1975 - Nah,Tellus Wh't Kush Means Yer Great Sausage

Nah,Tellus Wh't Kush Means Yer Great Sausage

01. Come Down
02. I'm Your Football
03. Out Of My Tree
04. What Do Mountains Say
05. Dream On (Parts I, II, And III)
06. Mr. Plod

Bonus Tracks:
07. I'm Your Football
08. Banana Song
09. Whatever Happened To The Good Old Days
10. Hey Sam
11. Temptation's 'Bout To Get Me
12. Where Will I Be? (Tomorrow)
13. The Clapometer
14. Soul Vaccination
15. All Right In The City
16. MacArthur Park
17. It's Your Move

Bass, Vocals – Clive Harrison
Drums – Nick Lister
Guitar – Dave Herzog
Organ, Piano, Clavinet – Steve Ball
Saxophone, Flute, Clarinet, Violin – Arthur Robinson (2)
Vocals – Geoff Duff

Kush's second album, enigmatically tilted  Nah, Tellus Wh't Kush Means Yer Great Sausage is also a little bit of an enigma itself. Without going into too much detail (because I don't understand it myself anyway), the "sausage" is Geoff Duff himself, "Super Sausage" being an alter ego of his on which he based costumes, stage designs and even planned a book and concept album about two groups of warring sausages or some such. And of course no one really knows what "Kush" means.

Anyway, I probably like the follow up less than the debut because the band toned up the camp, which is not necessarily a bad thing, but unfortunately it appears to be at the expense of the prog which was the highlight of the debut. The band's personnel changed significantly between albums with only two of the original members making it to the second album. With a number of line-up changes, the band eventually went from an eight-piece to a six-piece with the brass section suffering the most.

Most of the tracks end up pretty flat ('Come Down', 'Out of My Tree', 'What Do Mountains Say') or downright annoying ('I'm You Football'). 'I'm Your Football' especially was fairly notorious for its double entendre lyrics, which are all "obvious" and quite tame by today's standards, but were very controversial at the time of the song's release. But to me it's not clever or funny. The music itself is generic big band vaudeville, serving no purpose but to be a platform for the "playful" lyrics.

Without the prog, the majority of tracks end up just being standard jazz or jazz rock. So a track like 'Easy Street' from the debut is representative of most of the tracks on the first side such as 'Come Down' and 'Out of My Tree', even if 'Come Down' is a fair bit more funkier. I don't mind 'What Do Mountains Say' too much although it's a real strange track with all sorts of changes of direction in its four-minute running time – from tropical reggae to jazz to funky progressive instrumental breaks and back again before suddenly finishing.

'Dream On' is a bit better. Subtitled as being in three parts to clearly emphasise its epic nature, this track is primarily an atmospheric, somewhat emotional, epic ballad with a number of jazzy instrumental breaks. Pretty good all around. The closing track 'Mr. Plod', with its frantic keyboards and bass, is musically probably the best thing here. It's got a nice catchy main theme and some pretty neat instrumental breaks, but it's always annoyed me lyrically, because it ain't that clever, right down to the ending "oink, oink, oink oooiiiinnnkk!" to finish the album.

Unfortunately, with all the personnel changes and numerous stylistic and commercial issues, the band broke up shortly after the release of this album and never got a chance to "right the wrongs" of the album. Based on the liner notes in the Aztec release, Geoff Duff openly admits all the weaknesses of the album. To be honest it's a not a terrible album or anything, it's just a whole lot weaker than it might have been and a disappointment compared to the debut.



  2. That cover is frighteningly racist. Just saying.

    1. Is it?...
      When one sets out to look for men with beards, you only see men with beards around...