Friday, September 16, 2016

Alan Ross Band - 1978 - Restless Nights

Alan Ross Band
Restless Nights

01. Restless Nights
02. Ain't It A Shame
03. Kamina
04. I Will Be Alright
05. Angel
06. Joe Henry
07. Land Of The Snows
08. Salvation
09. Don't Back Away

Alan Ross - Vocals, Lead Guitar
Craig Anders - Guitar, Vocals
Pete Dennis - Bass, Vocals
Ed Spevock - Drums
John Cooke - Keyboards, Vocals

Guitarist Alan Ross played on 2 of John Entwistle's solo albums in the early 70's, "Whistle Rhymes" and "Rigor Mortis Sets In". He was also part of Entwistle's touring band during that period. In 1973, he played guitar on Tim Hardin's album "Painted Head". That same year, he formed a band called Ro-Ro with bass player Warwick Rose and they released an album called "Meet At The Water" on the Regal Zonophone label. The album is now extremely hard to find and goes on ebay for anything between GBP 200 and GBP 300. By 1974, he formed the group "Ross" with former Indian Summer keyboard player Bob Jackson. The band's career seemed to take off when they landed themselves a contract with RSO Records. They recorded 2 brilliant albums for the label, "Ross" and "The Pit And The Pendulum", released in 1974 and 1975. Eric Clapton, who was also an RSO artist toured the USA in 1974 and the Ross band was on the same bill. The band disbanded after two albums. In 1976, he appeared on the band Stars' self titled album. He released another 2 albums in 1977 and 1978, "Are You Free On Saturday" and "Restless Nights", this time for a small British label, Ebony Records under the name Alan Ross Band. In 1980, he appeared on an album by Wilson-Gale called "Gift Wrapped Set". In 1983, he played on Alexis Korner's album "Juvenile Delinquent". With the exception of a few minor session jobs in the late 80's and early 90's, Alan Ross disappeared. Alan now helps his wife run a horse sactuary in a town called Finchingfield in Essex, England.