Friday, July 1, 2016

Brownsville Station - 1973 - Yeah!

Brownsville Station

01. Question Of Temperature – 3:31
02. Lightnin’ Bar Blues – 2:52
03. Take It Or Leave It – 3:00
04. All Night Long – 2:55
05. Let Your Yeah Be Yeah – 3:37
06. Sweet Jane – 3:02
07. Love, Love, Love – 2:55
08. Go Out And Get Her – 2:56
09. Barefootin’ – 2:55
10. Smokin’ In The Boys Room – 2:57

- Cub Koda / Guitar, Harmonica, Vocals
- Mike Lutz / Bass, Guitar, Keyboards, Vocals
- Henry “H Bomb” Weck / Drums, vocals

Hailing from Ann Arbor, Brownsville Station’s third album lives up to its name with ten great songs. Eight covers, all given the treatment, and two originals — one of which sold two million copies. “Yeah!” is the quintessential “nice little record” — it won’t take up a lot of your time, and it’s got a very friendly vibe to it.

The cover songs span a wide variety of musical styles. From Hoyt Axton’s “Lightning Bar Blues” to then-unknown Jimmy Cliff’s “Let Your Yeah Be Yeah” to Lou Reed’s “Sweet Jane,” the band pumps out all of its songs in a chugging, lighthearted manner that ends up being nothing but fun.

Lead vocals were previously the exclusive domain of bassist Michael Lutz, but Koda emerges as a singer as well; Lutz may have been the more prototypical rock singer, but it was Koda’s sleazy, nasal snarl that worked to perfection on the classic hit single “Smokin’ In the Boys Room.”

“Yeah!” is truly delightful

1 comment: