Sunday, July 3, 2016

Brownsville - 1980 - Air Special

Air Special

01. Taste Of Your Love 2:54
02. Waitin' For The Weekend 2:52
03. Who Do You Love 3:07
04. Tears Of A Fool 2:56
05. Cooda Crawlin' 4:05
06. Air Mail Special 0:23
07. Never Say Die 3:54
08. Fever 4:25
09. Love Stealer 3:27
10. Let It Roll 3:14
11. Down The Road Apiece 2:30

Bass, Guitar, Vocals – Michael Lutz
Drums, Percussion, Vocals – Henry "H-Bomb" Weck*
Guitar, Guitar Synthesizer, Bass, Vocals – Bruce "Beezer" Nazarian*
Guitar, Harmonica, Vocals – Cub Koda

Brownsville (Station) went out fighting. Issued by Epic Records in 1978, under the shortened moniker, Air Special, the final '70s studio LP from animated Cub Koda, Henry "H-Bomb" Weck, Michael Lutz and "Beezer" Nazarian packs a punch. Laid down at Brownsville Subterranean Studios in Ann Arbor, under the production watch of Tom Werman, the bispectacle rustbelt rockers proved that there was more to their resume than "Smokin' in the Boys Room" with the eleven song Air Special.

Leanin' in with a Motor City shot of three chord hot rock from the off, "Taste of Your Love" pulls from old school Alice Cooper, while the party-on "Waitin' for the Weekend", as well as the keep-your-chin-up "Never Say Die" bring to mind BTO's truck stop wrench rawk. "Tears of a Fool" is carried by a shuffle groove, and the quartet gets down on the dirty blooze cruise of "Cooda Crawlin", which features the Cubster on harmonica.

A no-holds-barred, three-minute cover of "Who Do You Love" augments Air Special, and the cold-sweat "Fever" is blowin' out with a hit of Southern fried rock. "Let It Roll" is a an all-night-long blooze stomper that gives way to the short, but hyper boogie of "Down the Road Apiece".

Ahhhhh, the '70s! Ya shoulda been along for the wild ride...

1 comment: