Thursday, July 14, 2016

Alquin - 1975 - Nobody Can Wait Forever

Nobody Can Wait Forever

01. New Guinea sunrise (6:34)
  a) Sunrise
  b) Wake me up
02. Mr. Widow (3:30)
03. Stranger (6:38)
  a) Stranger
  b) You might as well fall
04. Darling superstar (7:57)
05. Farewell, miss Barcelona (2:56)
06. Wheelchair groupie (3:10)
07. Revolution's eve (7:25)
  a) Revolution's theme
  b) Nobody can wait forever

- Ferdinand Bakker / guitar, piano, vocals
- Ronald Ottenhoff / saxophone, flute
- Dick Franssen / organ, piano, moog
- Michel van Dijk / vocals
- Hein Mars / bass
- Paul Weststrate / drums & percussion
- Job Tarenskeen / drums (on 3 & 7), percussion & vocals
+ The Thunderthighs / backing vocals

Although less progressive than the two previous albums, this is by far my favourite ALQUIN record. This is the first album that feature vocalist Michael Van Dijk, his versatile performance in addition to the new approach of the compositions gives a powerful and overall fresher sound to the band. Highlights are the album opener, the almost hard-rocker Stranger and the album closer Revolution's Eve, coincidentaly the proggiest tracks on this record.
While most people may enjoy the two previous albums better, I prefer the less complicated compositions featured on this album, as I said before ALQUIN managed to sound really fresh and powerful but keeping their progressive influences.

1 comment: