Wednesday, May 11, 2016

The Pyramids - 1976 - Birth / Speed / Merging

The Pyramids
Birth / Speed / Merging

01. Birth / Speed / Merging Suite - Part 1. Aomawa
02. Birth / Speed / Merging Suite - Part 2. Birth/Speed/Merging
03. Birth / Speed / Merging Suite - Part 3. Reaffirmation
04. Jamaican Carnival
05. Black Man and Woman of The Nile

Alto Saxophone, Bongos, Zither [Ku Cheung], Flute [Bamboo], Talking Drum, Percussion, Vocals – Bruce Baker, Idris Ackamoor
Bass [Acoustic], Vocals – Mark Anthony Williams
Bass Guitar [Hagstrom], Talking Drum, Harp [Ugandan], Flute [Bamboo], Percussion, Vocals – Kimathi Asante
Congas, Bongos, Other [Rosenbow], Percussion, Drum [Guatemalan Stick], Vocals – Kenneth Nash
Drums, Talking Drum, Percussion – Augusta Lee Collins
Flute, Piccolo Flute, Percussion, Vocals – Margo Ackamoor
Recorded at His Master's Wheels Studio in November, 1975.

A ©? 1976 Idris Ackamoor, AKA Bruce Baker, Aomova Music, BMI.
B1 ©? 1976 by The Pyramids,
B2 ©? 1976 Idris Ackamoor, Aomova Music, BMI.

Album title: Birth Speed Merging 1976 on front cover, Birth / Speed / Merging on rear cover, Birth/Speed/Merging on labels.
Pyramid Records name on cover only, label catalogue number BB 30935.

Birth/Speed/Merging represents the San Francisco Bay Area era of the band. Relocating from Yellow Springs, Ohio in 1974, The Pyramids quickly met other musicians in the thriving San Francisco Bay Area music scene. After the departure of original member Kimathi to continue his African studies a very talented acoustic bass player named Heshima Mark Williams joined the band along with a new conga player named Mcheza Ngoma and new drummer Augusta Lee Collins. The Pyramids began working extensively around the area. Within the next year Kimathi returned from his travels and rejoined the band. The Pyramids now had two bass players; one acoustic and one electric. The composition "Jamaican Carnival" pays homage to the beautiful Caribbean island Jamaica and is one of the bands' most danceable tunes. For the composition "Birth/Speed/Merging Suite" the band utilized the brilliant percussionist Kenneth Nash to play on the track and it is one of the bands' most interesting and exotic compositions. There are a variety of unusual and beautiful percussion and string instruments used on the track featuring the Ugandan Harp, the Chinese Cheng, and a string instrument called the rosenbow. The composition is an aural delight of unusual sounds and beautiful colors.

1 comment: