Saturday, March 19, 2016

Yoko Ono - 1970 - Yoko Ono / Plastic Ono Band

Yoko Ono 
Yoko Ono / Plastic Ono Band

01. Why
02. Why Not
03. Greenfield Morning I Pushed An Empty Baby Carriage All Over The City
04. Aos
05. Touch Me
06. Paper Shoes

Bonus tracks:
07. Open Your Box
08. Something More Abstract
09. The South Wind

Recorded at Abbey Road Studios, October 1970.
"AOS" is from a rehearsal tape for show at Albert Hall with Ornette Coleman, February 1968.
Track 7 previously unreleased version.
Track 8 previously unreleased. From Plastic Ono Band sessions.
Track 9 previously unreleased. Recorded on 1/4" tape in New York City.

The original UK release comes with a custom Apple inner sleeve with credits, flower illustration, dedication to John ('For John with love from Yoko, 9/10/70') and its instruction to 'Play in the dark'.

Bass – Charlie Haden (tracks: 4), David Izenzon (tracks: 4), Klaus Voormann
Drums – Edward Blackwell, Ringo Starr
Guitar – John Lennon
Trumpet – Ornette Coleman (tracks: 4)
Vocals, Design – Yoko Ono

Recorded concurrently with John Lennon's Plastic Ono Band album, Yoko's features the same musicians, namely John, Ringo Starr, and Klaus Voormann along with the Ornette Coleman Quartet on one cut. Unlike John's record, however, Yoko's is much more a "jam"-sounding record. And while there are definite songs, lyrics are mainly vocal improvisations. Still, if avant-garde is your cup of tea, then check this one out. It's good, if only to hear John Lennon really get the guitar cranking on the opening cut, "Why." The 1997 CD reissue adds three bonus cuts: a previously unreleased version of "Open Your Box" (which would be used as the flip side to John Lennon's "Power to the People" single), the previously unreleased, 16-minute improv piece "The South Wind," and a previously unreleased 44-second snippet of "Something More Abstract."



  2. This is the album I play for people who hate Yoko, I just slip it on and wait for them to say "who is this" - made quite a few converts this way!

  3. Great grandmother of Sonic Youth!! Wish I'd bought this one as well as John's back in the day. Thanks for this.