Thursday, March 3, 2016

Lemon Kittens - 1980 - Cake Beast

Lemon Kittens 
Cake Beast

01. Kites
02. Only a Rose.
03. Popsykle

Danielle Dax: Vocals, Keyboards, Tapes.

Karl Blake: Vocals, Guitar, Bass Guitar, Keyboards, Drums.

~ with assistance from ~
Ian Sturgess: Guitar, Bass Guitar. Mike Barnes: Percussion.

There are few musics that sound like they were made in a mental asylum. Mostly we only hear music that sends you to a secure unit, like Dire Straits,or Beyonce.
The Lemon Kittens are the sound of padded cells.An electroencephalogram made aural of a troubled mind.
They inhabit a world where playing 'in time' is strictly for 'Normals',and melodies make adults scream for their mothers and children weep for joy.
The music is a feral mix of every bizarre pop and channelled experimental impulse the pair could manifest; bursting forth with all the skewed syncopation  of breaking glass. Somehow pulled through a distorted wormhole from a parallel, inverted existence, into the UK DIY scene. Poof!
So throw on that Electro-convulsive therapy kit you were saving for special occasions , set it to max, and dance to Cake Beast!

1 comment: