Thursday, March 3, 2016

Faust - 2000 - The Wümme Years 1970-73

The Wümme Years 1970-73

Contains the albums:
1) 'So Far'
2) 'The Faust Tapes'
3) '71 minutes...'
4) 'BBC Sessions'
and three more songs onto what they called 'Clear Album':
1. Why Don't You Eat Carrots? (9:31)
2. Meadow Meal' (8:02)
3. Miss Fortune' (16:35)

- Werner Diermeier / drums
- Hans-Joachim Irmler / organ
- Jean-Hervé Peron / bass
- Gunter Wüsthoff / synthesiser, saxophone
- Rudolf Sosna / guitar, keyboards

What a fantastic present for music lovers, mainly for lovers of the craziest krautrock band ever, the incredible FAUST. This box compiles their first three studio albums "Faust", "So Far" and "The Faust Tapes", combined with "71 Minutes" (a compilation of both "Munich and Elsewhere" and "The Last LP") and a John Peel radio session. 6 records comprising 3 years of non stop owrk. There´s also a small booklet (written by Chris Cutler) with lot of information about that period of the band that improves ou understanding of the process of recording a FAUST tape.
I have listened its content lots of time, and it is always interesting rediscover the particular universe of FAUST, a mix between rock, avant garde and industrial music, on the boundaries between concert and performance. Its quite a unique band, and standing in the front row for all this years is not an easy task, but they can do it.

FAUST lovers will not find anything new but the booklet, but those intereted in the band and in the german musical scene of that period, this box is an absolute reference, not only for the content but for the information.

1 comment: