Sunday, January 3, 2016

Albatross - 1975 - Rockin' The Sky

Rockin' The Sky

01. Out Of Control
02. After The Fire
03. Spare A Dime
04. About Losing
05. Back Street Lover
06. Same Old Song
07. No Reason To Cry
08. On The Run
09. Yankee Jam
10. Both Sides Now
11. Other Side Of Town
12. Mean Woman Blues

GARY WARD - Lead Guitar/B.Vocal
RUDY WEAVER - Bass Guitar/B.Vocal
HENRY REID - Keyboards
JOE CAMPBELL - Drums/B.Vocal
MIKE GEORGE - Lead Vocal

Undoubtedly one of my personal fave private press albums from the '70s. This is hard southern rock with extremely solid guitars. The vocals and keyboards are a slight weak point, but more due to the production values than the talent herein. It's confident, driving, and often metallic in the way that Blackfoot could be. A consistent album that I would say is an absolute must for those looking into the far reaches of southern rock obscurities, and the heavier side of SR in general.
This band may originally have been based in Salem, Virginia? Any information is appreciated

1 comment: