Monday, December 7, 2015

Freddie Roulette - 1973 - Sweet Funky Steel

Freddie Roulette
Sweet Funky Steel 

01. Smoked Fish
02. Joaquin
03. Del Conto Shuffle (Victor Conte) 5:20
04. Cause And Effect
05. Mr. Roulette
06. Million Dollar Feeling
07. Springtime
08. Alleluia

 - Freddie Roulette (Frederick Martin Roulette) - lap steel guitar (1-8)
- Victor Conte - bass (1-8), acoustic guitar (1)
- Coleman Head - guitar (1-3,6,7)
- Randy Resnick - guitar (4,5)
- Bruce Conte - guitar (8)
- Paul Lagos - drums (1-3,6,7)
- Lonnie Castille - drums (4,5,8)
- Richard Aplanalp - saxophones (2,8)
- Don "Sugarcane" Harris - violin (4,5)
- Harvey Mandel - solo guitar (3,7)

Frederick Martin "Freddie" Roulette (born May 3, 1939) is an American electric blues lap steel guitarist and singer. He is best known as an exponent of the lap steel guitar. Roulette is also a member of the Daphne Blue band, and has collaborated with Earl Hooker, Charlie Musselwhite, Henry Kaiser, and Harvey Mandel, and released several solo albums.
Prior to Sweet Funky Steel, Roulette had played with Charlie Musselwhite and the Chicago Blue Stars, whose 1969 debut LP kicks off with the “Fred Roulette” composition, “I Need Your Loving.”
This is an all-instrumental album showcasing Freddie's unique lap-steel guitar style.  The solos are hot, and the rhythm section is always cooking.  Freddie is joined by guest soloists Don "Sugarcane" Harris and  Harvey Mandel, who also produced these sessions.  A great catch if you can find this one.
How fascinating (and sad) that Freddie Roulette would release his groundbreaking album Sweet Funky Steel in 1973 — and then issue no other recordings for over 20 years.  One gets the sense that this album may have been a bit ahead of its time and had to wait for the rest of the world to catch up.