Friday, May 29, 2015

Acid Mothers Temple & The Melting Paraiso U.F.O. - 2010 - In 0 to 8

Acid Mothers Temple & The Melting Paraiso U.F.O.
In 0 to 8

01. In 0 (18:15)
02. In A (18:21)
03. In Z (18:39)
04. In 8 (18:29)

- Tsuyama Atsushi / monster bass, voice, soprano sax, recorder, chimpo pipe, temple block, cosmic joker
- Higashi Hiroshi / synthesizer, dancin?king
- Shimura Koji / drums, latino cool
- Ichiraku Yoshimitsu / drums, doravideo
- Kawabata Makoto / guitar, organ, synthesizer, analog guitar synthesizer, gong, glockenspiel, tape-loop, voice, speed guru
- Cotton Casino / voice

Acid Mothers Temple is one of those bands that I can't help but loving just for the self-indulgence alone. I find it extremely awesome (and fun) that they create music at the rate they do however the heck they want and it's that type of freedom that flows through many of their records, many that I love.

But this album is a different thing entirely from their psychedelic albums that recall the sixties themself, this album is dark and pulsating electronic drone music that is ominous and sort of an obscurity in the Acid Mothers Temple catalog.

This album is a beauty, the sound the band achieves (there's even polished production!) is stunning and leaves the listener breathless. With each second that passes in this album, the more your mind is pulled into the spaced out void of drone that is prominent on this record. It's more literally "space-out" than the bands earlier space rock releases!

For some it may not be easy on the ears, but it's the easiest on the ears I've heard from this band and they really created a beautiful record here, not just a self-indulgent psych record.

Acid Mothers Guru Guru - 2009 - Underdogg Express

Acid Mothers Guru Guru 
Underdogg Express

01 Flexitwister 3:13
02 Underdogg Express 28:52
03 In the Cave of the Mountain Gods 13:03
04 In To ... 9:42
05 Spirit of Nara 8:07

- Mani Neumeier / Drums, vocals
- Kawabata Makoto / Guitar, vocals
- Atsushi Tsuyama / Bass, flute, vocals

I like Acid Mothers Temple and I like Guru Guru (well, Kanguru and UFO at least) so I guess that means I should like Acid Mothers Guru Guru and Underdogg Express (CD/LP) certainly has its moments. The first is the cover which features baps in the Acid Mothers tradition, combined with dogs in neckties, neon signs and a hot dog stand. It seems rich with meaning but I'm fucked if I can discern anything from it other than 'this must be the best record ever made'. As far as the music goes this is your usual live jam recording jobbie and to be honest the fidelity isn't incredible, but Makoto's heroic overuse of his wah-wah pedal and the fact Tsuyama manages to more than match half of Guru Guru's legendary rhythm section certainly is. While there's a fair amount of semi-aimless noodling it does come together from time to time in surprisingly funky fashion. Not bad at all!

Acid Mothers Temple SWR - 2009 - Stones, Women & Records

Acid Mothers Temple SWR
Stones, Women & Records

01. Uzumgayu/Just George Benson
02. The Condition Of International Job Hunting Activity
03. Little Stone Little Woman And Little Record
04. Jet Stream, Jet Stream
05. Very Very Very Jazz/Deer Cries With "KAYEEYO" In The Breeding Season
06. The Harekaimogs Monster
07. Ahla Hassanbeck Lamborghini Rock
08. Davideo Said To Himself/Incognito Blues
09. Just Like A Stone, Just Like A Woman, Just Like A Record
10. Fairy Music Of Foolish Sushi Bar/Country Singer Narena Baystar
11. The Hametnyara Lady
12. Beyer
13. Mastering Master Builder
14. A Gastric Ulcer And The Prostate Part I
15. Picture Of Romance
16. The Complete Dancing Barefoot
17. A Gastric Ulcer And The Prostate Part II
18. Forever Stones, Forever Women, Forever Records

- Tsuyama Atsushi / guitar, bass, vocals
- Ysohida Tatsuya / drums, vocals, keyboards
- Kawabata Makoto / guitar, violin

ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE SWR, the ultimate power trio of YOSHIDA TATSUYA from RUINS and TSUYAMA ATSUSHI and KAWABATA MAKOTO from AMT, present their shocking second album. The album references psychedelic and progressive rock, jazz and contemporary composition motifs but filtered through the group's unique digestive and interpretative processes and placed within a terrifying structural framework of infinite chaos that rocks on every level. In the hands of these three masters from the Japanese underground scene talent, insanity and heaviness spark a fusion reaction that creates a wildly weird and mysterious form of music that seems barely of this earth. Truly psychedelic-progressive rock that kicks sand in the face of both metaphysics and mysticism.