Wednesday, November 25, 2015

Contact - 1971 - Hon kom över mon

Hon kom över mon

01. Grannlåten
02. Fisken
03. Nattens drottning
04. Ogräset sprider sig på vallarna
05. Smultes vals
06. Vägen gick vindlande grå
07. Minnen
08. Hon kom över mon
09. Vargarnas natt
10. Samma vindar, samma dofter
11. Jass
12. Jag är lite ledsen ikväl

Alto Saxophone, Accordion – Björn Holmsten
Drums, Backing Vocals – Leif Reinholds
Guitar, Backing Vocals – Ted Steerling
Violin – Bosse Linné, Claes Palmquist
Vocals, Organ, Bass – Lorne DeWolfe
Vocals, Organ, Piano, Guitar – Ted Ström

Contact achieved surprisingly little recognition for their innovative albums. Their first and rarest album Nobody Wants To Be 16 (1970) was produced by Kim Fowley, who also co-wrote a couple of the songs. This was an unique, cool and relaxed mixture of Anglo-American hippie-rock and Nordic folklore with frequent use of congas, flute and acoustic/electric guitars. Try to imagine a mixture of The Beatles, Tim Buckley, Pearls Before Swine and Tyrannosaurus Rex and it sounded similar.

Hon Kom Över Mon (1971) marked a transition of style, introducing Swedish lyrics and the extensive use of fiddles.

Although Contact wrote their own songs, they also incorporated fragments of folk songs into their lyrics. Those who understand Swedish will find them highly entertaining (one track even has a reference to Frank Zappa). Their mood varied from sing-a-long jolliness t melancholic and sombre. This is a highly imaginative album and sometimes reminds me of another great Swedish group - Vildkaktus.

1 comment: