Tuesday, June 30, 2015

Darryl Way's Wolf - 1974 - Night Music

Darryl Way's Wolf
Night Music

01. The Envoy (6:28)
02. Black September (4:48)
03. Flat 2-55 (6:52)
04. Anteros (4:21)
05. We’re Watching You (5:10)
06. Steal The World (4:18)
07. Comrade Of The Nine (2:43)

 - Darryl Way / violin, keyboards
- John Etheridge / guitars
- Dek Messecar / bass
- Ian Mosley / drums
- John Hodkinson / vocals

When Curved Air fell apart in 1972-1973, Darryl Way formed a new band called Wolf who carried on much in the same style as Curved Air. The band compromised of Darryl Way (naturally) on violin and keyboards, Ian Mosley on drums (later to be in Trace, Steve Hackett’s band and of course Marillion), John Etheridge on guitar (later to be a member of Soft Machine) and Dek Messacar on bass (later to be a member of Caravan).

On their third (and alas last) album, John Hodkinson (ex-If) joined on vocals to produce very ripe and intelligent music. With the violin lead, it is in a mold similar to Curved Air but a slightly more refined style. Some of the musical interludes are similar to mid-period Caravan. A fusion style playing, great instrumentation and strong melodies.