Wednesday, April 22, 2015

Burnin Red Ivanhoe & Povl Dissing - 1971 - 6 Elefantskovcikadeviser

Burnin Red Ivanhoe & Povl Dissing 
6 Elefantskovcikadeviser

01. Introduction sigvaldi
02. Wallifanten
03. Narrevise
04. Snehvidekys
05. Kometen v sigvaldi
06. Ta fri ta fri
07. Et Samfund
08. Tingel-tangelmanden
09. Introduction til Medardus

- Karsten Vogel / Alto & Soprano saxophone, keyboard
- Ole Fick / electric guitars, guitars, vocal
- Kim Menzer / flute, trombone, harmonica, didjeridoo, vocal
- Thomas Menzer / drums & percussion
- Louis Vinding / electric bass

6 Elefantskovcikadeviser is the fourth studio album from Danish progressive jazz/ rock act Burnin´ Red Ivanhoe. Or rather it´s a collaboration between Burnin´ Red Ivanhoe and Danish folk singer Povl Dissing. Poul Dissing was and still is one of the most prolific musicians on the Danish music scene. Ask any Dane and they will know who Povl Dissing is. His most famous work is called Svantes Viser and it´s an album he did in collaboration with prolific Danish poet and author Benny Andersen.
Burnin´ Red Ivanhoe´s normal progressive jazz/ rock approach has been left in the background on 6 Elefantskovcikadeviser which is basically a folk rock album with Danish sung lyrics. Burnin´ Red Ivanhoe is known for their elaborate intrumental sections, but on this album the instrumentation is a bit more stripped down.

The album consists of nine tracks, but there are really only six real songs on the album as Introduction sigvaldi, Kometen v sigvaldi and Introduction til Medardus are basically only some live talking. Wallifanten is the first real song and it´s great. One of the best songs on the album. It´s also the first song where we´re introduced to Povl Dissing´s characteristic voice. Narrevise is the next song. Again it´s a great folky track but it´s the next song Snehvidekys ( Snowwhite Kiss) which takes the price as the best song on the album for me. It ´s an extremely beautiful and emotionally sung love song that really moves me. Ta fri ta fri us another great bluesy folk rock song and the same can be said about Et Samfund which is the only song on the album where Povl Dissing doesn´t sing. Ole Fick handles the vocals on this song as he usually does on Burnin´ Red Ivanhoe´s albums. Tingel-Tangelmanden is a reworking of the original track from the debut and it has extensive soloing during it´s 10:27 minutes and some great vocals from Povl Dissing. This is probably the song that will be most enjoyable for fans of the first three classic albums from the band ( M144, Burnin´ Red Ivanhoe and W.W.W.).

The musicianship is as always excellent even though this music is much more basic than the more challenging playing which takes place on the first three albums from the band. Povl Dissing will be an aquired taste, first of all because he sings in Danish but also because of his distinct vocal style which will probably scare some people away( he is very famous in Denmark because of his vocal style and his poetic lyrics). Despite of the lineup info here on PA, the sleeve notes on the original album says that it´s the same lineup who recorded W.W.W. who also recorded this album just with the addition of Povl Dissing on the latter.

The production is excellent. Nothing to complain about there.

1 comment: