Thursday, April 23, 2015

Burnin Red Ivanhoe - 1980 - Shorts

Burnin Red Ivanhoe

01. Duen
02. With Love
03. Neonblomsten
04. Latterens Slot
05. Skumringsfalk
06. Lystige Lise
07. Tavse Thormod
08. Zebra Danza
09. Den Hvide Manege
10. Jeg Tar Dig Som Du Er

- Karsten Vogel / saxophone, organ, Mellotron
- Ole Fick / guitar, vocals
- Jess Stæhr / bass, vocals
- Kim Menzer / saxophone, flute, harmonica, violin
- Bo Thrige Andersen / drums

The music is far from the experimental Jazz/ Rock style Burnin´ Red Ivanhoe is generally known for and I´m sure that fans of the first three and most famous albums would cringe with embarrasment if they heard Shorts because this is bad eighties AOR if I´m being nice and really bad AOR if I´m not. You can still hear Karsten Vogel´s saxophone playing here and there but it´s about the only thing that links this album to Burnin´ Red Ivanhoe of the seventies. What a shame. This is such a cheesy album full of simple pop tunes with trivial arranged instrumentation.

The musicianship is good, but it´s no surprise if you´ve heard their albums from the seventies.