Tuesday, March 24, 2015

Paris - 1976 - Paris


01. Black Book 03:11
02. Religion 05:23
03. Starcage 03:58
04. Beautiful Youth 03:37
05. Nazarene 04:00
06. Narrow Gate (La Porte Etroite) 06:45
07. Solitaire 04:08
08. Breathless 03:22
09. Rock Of Ages 03:14
10. Red Rain 03:20

All songs written by Bob Welch.

Bob Welch - vocals, guitar
Glenn Cornick - bass guitar, keyboards
Thom Mooney - drums

After recording the Fleetwood Mac album Heroes Are Hard to Find, Bob Welch left that group and formed Paris with former Jethro Tull bassist Glenn Cornick & former Nazz drummer Thom Mooney. This line-up recorded their self-titled debut Paris, the hardest-rocking album of Bob Welch's career.

Fronted by former Fleetwood Mac guitarist and vocalist Robert Welch, Paris recorded their self-titled debut LP for Capitol Records under the production reign of Jimmy Robinson, at the Record Plant in Los Angeles. The quickly-assembled power trio, filled out by ex-Jethro Tull bassist/keyboardist Glenn Cornick and one-time Nazz drummer Thom Mooney, wasted little time laying down the ten tracks that comprise the under-the-radar recording.

The big brass from Capitol did little to promote Paris, outside of a few industry ads and sending the band out on the road. As a result, the Paris LP became a long, lost collection of cuts in the wake of the big earthquakin' riffs set off by the hard rock landslide of 1976, that featured killer recordings and headlining tours from the likes of Aerosmith, Led Zeppelin, Ted Nugent, Thin Lizzy, Blue Öyster Cult, Rainbow and Lynyrd Skynyrd.

Despite being overshadowed by the competition, Paris delivered the hardware throughout their first studio shot. Each song from Paris was composed by Welch, which opens with the stop/start action of "Black Book", which segues into the Zep inspired big block rockin' "Religion". The chaotic "Religion" cruises off the rails to an out-of-control conclusion. Side one of Paris adds the heavy keyboard roller "Starcage", the open space "Beautiful Youth", which features Welch's clear vocals over dirty, biting guitar work, and the thumping bass mover "Nazarene".

The mellow, six-minute "Narrowgate (La Porte Etroite)", the longest track from the album, starts side two in a laid back manner. "Solitaire" is a melodic rock track with an edge and a thick bottom end, while the three-piece get down and funky on the wide-open "Breathless". The raucous "Rock of Ages" is banged out in short order before the Southern styled "Red Rain" closes out Paris.

1 comment:

  1. http://www.filefactory.com/file/1s26bdckekgd/n/527.rar