Friday, March 13, 2015

Gong - 1978 - Gong Est Morte, Vive Gong

Gong Est Morte, Vive Gong

01. Can't Kill Me (7:52)
02. I've Been Stoned Before/Mr Longshanks/Oh Mother (6:39)
03. Radio Gnome Invisible (2:38)
04. Zero the Hero & the Witches Spell (10:04)
05. Flute Salad/Oily Way/Outer Temple (10:08)
06. Inner Temple (Zero Meets The Octave Doctor) (6:01)
07. IAO Chant & Master Builder (7:05)
08. Sprinkling of Clouds (4:49)
09. From the Isle of Everywhere to the End of the Styory of Zero the Hero (12:14)
10. You Never Blow Your Trip Forever (8:26)

- Daevid Allen / guitars, vocals
- Didier Malherbe / saxes, flute, vocals
- Gilli Smyth / spacewhisper, vocals
- Tim Blake / synths, vocals
- Steve Hillage / guitar, vocals
- Pierre Moerlen / drums, percussion
- Mike Howlett / bass

 Similar to the GonG live. Unless you are a real Gnome one of the two is sufficient.I , as a Gnome , of course have both. Another live one is the Sheffield 74 but again unless you are a real Gnome..... The madness of those shows are not well transcripted on wax , but if you saw the band in the last seven years , you can take all of those live one and imagine

The core lineup of the Radio Gnome years had a reunion in Paris in 1977, the highlights of which are presented in Gong Est Mort? Vive Gong! Say what you like about the band: they certainly weren't overprotective of their name, allowing various spin-offs and factions to use it over the years - for instance, this reunion took place right when the Pierre Moerlen-led lineup hadn't yet officially changed their name to Pierre Morelen's Gong, but Moerlen, Howlett and Malherbe have no qualms about abandoning their fusion experiments in order to bring back the old pothead pixies magic.