Monday, March 16, 2015

Daevid Allen - 2006 - Melbourne Studio Tapes

Daevid Allen
Bananamoon Obscura No. 10
Melbourne Studio Tapes

01. Boperatica 3:23
02. Magick of the Circle 9:37
03. Idealist 12:30
04. Garden Song 8:01
05. Trial By Headline 4:15
06. Boperatico 2:06
07. Lolli Song 5:37
08. Never Too Late 4:09
09. Here & Now I Allow 4:20
10. I Am My Own Roadie 1:30

Daevid Allen: Guitar,gliss guitar & vocals
Elliet Mackrell: Keyboards
Harry Williamson: Keyboards
Rob George: drums
Dougie Kerr: bass

 Great sounding unreleased studio demos - Limited release.

Funkier, wilder and more relaxed than the released high studio gloss versions these well-known tracks are great fun and totally recommended to all who appreciate Daevid's late '80's/early '90's solo and non Gong band output. This is the most hi-fi Obscura release so far.

In February 1990 Daevid returned to Melbourne from the UK where this spontaneous demo session took place at Harry Williamson's Spring Studio in St. Kilda. The all electric treatment given here by Daevid and Harry with Kangaroo Moon violinist Eliet Mackerell and the Mothergong rhythm section throws a new light on the songs.

1 comment: