Sunday, February 22, 2015

Thors Hammer - 1971 - Thors Hammer

Thors Hammer
Thors Hammer

01. Mexico 6:21
02. Not Worth Saying 13:05
03. Blind Gypsy Woman 5:02
04. Believe In What You Want 9:03
05. Evasive Dreams Beyond 3:32

Peter Nielsen (vocals)
Michael Bruun (guitar, piano)
Jesper Neehammer (saxes)
Henrik Langkilde (organ, piano)
Henrik Bødtcher (bass)
Simon Koppel (drums)

Excellent Danish Progressive fusion, great saxaphones and hammond on this one and hard to find. They were one of those groups that promised much but never went further than an eponymous debut album. Stylistically, their music was close to Burnin' Red Ivanhoe, Blast Furnace and the jazzy style of bands like Traffic. Neehammer's sax riffing is predominant on the album's five tracks, also frequently augmented by organ and electric guitar. "Mexico" (6:21) is the most effective track (paraphrasing the well-known sax riff from Traffic's "Freedom Rider"), while the longest tracks are less purposeful (due to the slightly repetitive solo sections).

1 comment: