Monday, July 2, 2018

Bob Dylan - 2013 - The 50th Anniversary Collection 1963

Bob Dylan
The 50th Anniversary Collection 1963

Columbia Studios, NYC (August/October 1963)
101. Eternal Circle (Take 4)
102. Percy's Song (Take 1)
103. That's All RIght, Mama / Sally Free And Easy (Take1)
104. Hero Blues (Take 3)
105. East Laredo Blues (Take 1)
106. Bob Dylan's New Orleans Rag (Take 2)
The Banjo Tape (February 8, 1963)
107. Lonesome River Edge
108. Back Door Blues
109. Bob Dylan's Dream
110. You Can Get Her
111. Farewell
112. All Over You
113. Masters Of War
114. Instrumental In Gerde's Basement/Jam
115. Keep Your Hands Off Her (Leadbelly)
116. Honey Babe
117. Goin' Back To Rome
118. Stealin'
Westinghouse Broadcasting Co. - Folk Songs and More Folk Songs (March 3, 1963)
119. Ballad Of Hollis Brown
Oscar Brand Show / World of Folk Music (March 1963)
120. Girl From The North Country
121. Only A Hobo
Town Hall - NYC (April 12, 1963)
122. Ramblin Down Through The World
123. Bob Dylan's Dream
124. Talkin' New York
125. Hiding Too Long

201. Ballad Of Hollis Brown
202. Walls Of Red Wing
203. All Over You
204. Talkin' John Birch Paranoid Blues
205. Boots Of Spanish Leather
206. Hero Blues
207. John Brown
208. A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall
209. Dusty Old Fairgrounds
210. Who Killed Davey Moore
211. Seven Curses
212. Highway 51
213. Pretty Peggy-O
214. Bob Dylan's New Orleans Rag
215. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right
216. With God On Our Side

The Home of Eve and Mac McKenzie - NYC (April 18, 1963)
301. James Alley Blues
302. Long Time Gone
303. Only A Hobo
304. Untitled Blues Jam
305. A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall
The Bear - Chicago, IL (April 25, 1963)
306. Honey, Just Allow Me One More Chance
307. Talkin' John Birch Paranoid Blues
308. Bob Dylan's Dream
309. Ballad Of Hollis Brown
310. Talkin' World War Three Blues
311. A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall
312. With God On Our Side

WFMT Radio Studio - Chicago, IL (April 26, 1963)
313. Farewell
314. A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall
315. Bob Dylan's Dream
316. Boots Of Spanish Leather
317. John Brown

401. Who Killed Davey Moore?
402. Blowin' In The Wind
Songs of Freedom - WNEW TV Studios, NYC (July 30, 1963)
403. Blowin' In The Wind
404. Only A Pawn In Their Game
Lincoln Memorial - March on Washington (August 28, 1963)
405. When The Ship Comes In
406. Only A Pawn In Their Game
Carnegie Hall - NYC (October 26, 1963)
407. Blowin' In The Wind
408. Percy's Song
409. Seven Curses
410. Walls Of Red Wing
411. Talkin' World War Three Blues
412. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right
413. Only A Pawn In Their Game
414. Masters Of War
415. The Lonesome Death Of Hattie Carroll

Previously unreleased studio outtakes, home recordings, radio appearances and live performances from 1963.

I realize loving Dylan is already a given for many music fans, but I have to admit it strikes me as bizarre that six times as many people are willing to listen to a triple-album of old man Dylan performing standards yet again than listen to all the remaining goodies from one of the best years of his career. Yes, there's an inherent redundancy here in that many of his biggest songs of the time appear on this album multiple times but if you take each performance on its own, many of them are quite enjoyable.

The only major dud for me was Town Hall and Bear Folk Club wasn't too necessary but even those had a few good performances. The March on Washington performance is completely unnecessary except for historical relevance, though the song choice of "Only a Pawn in Their Game" was either naivety or one of the biggest troll moves of a career filled with trolling.

The "Carnegie Hall" concert deserved its own album more than that Philharmonic set in the Bootleg series (even though the full set isn't here, those were already released in other forms and these are all the remaining tracks).

It seems they the label have deployed the same strategy in 2013 but are going the vinyl route this time around. The 50th Anniversary Collection 1963 is a vinyl box this time, a six-LP set in fact, which features a mixture of previously unreleased studio and live recordings from 1963 (see full track listings below).

It’s not particularly clear exactly how many are being produced, but it does appear to be hundreds, rather than thousands. What’s confusing is that these are supposed to be distributed via independent record shops, but have now turned up on Amazon. Quite how or why Amazon have these remains to be seen. It seems rather unlikely that they will be able to fulfill orders for a product where demand will massively outweigh supply, even at the high prices being charged, unless the production run is higher than it is rumored to be.

1 comment: