Sunday, April 8, 2018

Anthony Braxton, Leroy Jenkins, Leo Smith - 1974 - Silence

Anthony Braxton, Leroy Jenkins, Leo Smith 

01. Off The Top Of My Head 17:10
02. Silence 15:37

Recorded on 18 July 1969 in Paris.

Reeds, Instruments [Misc. Instruments], Producer – Anthony Braxton
Trumpet, Instruments [Misc. Instruments], Producer – Leo Smith
Violin, Instruments [Misc. Instruments], Producer – Leroy Jenkins

Further collaboration with Leroy Jenkins and Leo Smith resulted in the two long improvisations of Silence (1969). Written by Jenkins and Smith respectively, the compositions were squarely placed in the traditions of the free jazz suite. The concern was the development of novel textures upon a theme as well as the movement towards, and from, silence, so incorporating the contemporary classicism of John Cage. The trio sought to peel back the material to its thematic centre whilst propelling it through shifting timbres and instruments.Title track got that Proto-Quartet Onkyo swag. Get it!

1 comment: