Tuesday, March 13, 2018

Jimi Hendrix - 1971 - Roots Of Hendrix

Jimi Hendrix 
Roots Of Hendrix

01. Wipe The Sweat 2:50
02. Wipe The Sweat, Seque 1 3:25
03. Wipe The Sweat, Seque 2 2:44
04. Goodbye Bessie Mae 2:22
05. Two In One Goes 2:17
06. All I Want 3:32
07. Under The Table, Part 1 4:20
08. Under The Table, Part 2 2:50
09. Psycho 2:40

Recorded at Abtone Recording Studios N.Y., N.Y. 1966

Jimi Hendrix / guitar, vocals
Lonnie Youngblood / sax, vocals
Herman Hitson / guitar
Lee Moses / guitar

all other musicians are uncredited

This album was originally recorded in 1966, with Jimi Hendrix playing as a sideman in sax player Lonnie Youngblood's band. As far as I know, the album was never released under Youngblood's name. It was released, however, shortly after Hendrix's death (I presume it was a cynical attempt by the music's owner to capitalize on the tragedy), under Hendrix' name.
I must admit, there is enough of Hendrix' distinctive guitar (in all but one track) to justify the album, but here is playing is quite raw and not yet fully developed into what we heard on "Are You Experienced?". While this does have some good playing, it's really just for collectors.

1 comment: