Sunday, January 21, 2018

Latin Jazz Quintet - 1961 - Latin Jazz Quintet

Latin Jazz Quintet 
Latin Jazz Quintet

01. You're The Cutest One
02. Speak Low
03. I Got Rhythm
04. Night And Day
05. Cha Cha King
06. I Wish I Were In Love Again
07. You Don't Know What Love Is
08. Lover
09. Mangolina
10. April Rain

Recorded in 1961.

Felipe Díaz — leader, vibes
Eric Dolphy — alto sax, flute, bass clarinet
Arthur Jenkins — piano
Bobby Rodríguez — bass
Tommy López — conga drums
Louie Ramírez — timbales

A extremely rare album that Eric Dolphy recorded with the Latin Jazz Quintet – a rare Latin-based side of Dolphy's career, and a set that's a bit different than the Prestige album by the same pairing! This set features a slightly different lineup of the LJQ – one that includes Louie Ramirez on timbales, Felipe Diaz on vibes, and Art Jenkins on piano – all grooving very hard, and very tight next to Dolphy's work on alto, flute, and bass clarinet! His work here still has a bit of a modern edge, but not nearly as much so as on his work as a leader – mostly content to settle into the groove with the rest of the group, but then bursting out boldly with some really inventive solo moments!

1 comment: