Sunday, August 13, 2017

Dorothy Ashby - 1984 - Concierto de Aranjuez

Dorothy Ashby 
Concierto de Aranjuez

01. Concierto De Aranjues 9:26
02. Gypsy Airs 3:51
03. Green Sleeves 1:30
04. Gershwin Melody / Summer Time - Somone To Watch Over Me - Porgy 7:49
05. Autumn Leaves 5:14
06. Dear Old Stockholm 1:14
07. Yesterday 2:57

Digital Recording
Recorded March 7-8, 1983
Studio: Capital Recording Studio, Hollywood

Arranged By, Harp – Dorothy Ashby

The harp is such a phenomenally beautiful instrument and I don't understand why it isn't much more prominent in jazz, or music in general. Dorothy Ashby plays with grace and feeling. Listening to this album feels like being swept away into some mystical fairy tale land. It's soothing but also kind of melancholy in a way that I don't think can really be described properly with words.

1 comment: