Saturday, July 1, 2017

Hozan Yamamoto & Tadao Sawai - 1969 - A New Sound From The Japanese Bach Scene

Hozan Yamamoto & Tadao Sawai 
A New Sound From The Japanese Bach Scene 

01. Toccata And Fugue In D Minor 4:20
02. Jesu, Joy Of Man's Desiring 2:30
03. Prelude No.1 2:21
04. Fugue No.1 (From The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book I) 2:51
05. Sleepers, Wake! 2:30
06. Polonaise (From Orchestral Suite No.2) 3:13
07. Bourree I (From English Suite No.2) 2:55
08. Two - Part Invention No.1 1:24
09. Air On The G-String (From Orchestral Suite No.3) 3:16
10. Minuet In G (From The Notebook For Anna Magdalena) 2:42
11. Arioso (Sinfonia From Cantata No.156) 3:25
12. Gavotte I (From English Suite No.3) 2:04
13. Bourree (From Partita No.1 For Solo Violin) 3:03
14. Minuet In G Minor (From The Notebook For Anna Magdalena) 2:16
15. "Little" Fugue In G Minor 4:01

Tadao Sawai: Koto
Kazue Sawai: Koto
Hozan Yamamoto: Shakuhachi
Sadanori Nakamure: Guitar
Tatsuro Takimoto: Bass
Takeshi Inomata: Percussion

It's Bach... You know most of this by heart (Or at least you should) but... here comes the twist... played on Koto and Shakuhachi... Needs to be heard to believe how cool this sounds!

1 comment: