Wednesday, June 7, 2017

SJOB Movement – 1977 - Friendship Train

SJOB Movement 
Friendship Train 

01. Friendship Train 6:06
02. Love Affair 6:50
03. What Could It Be? 3:33
04. Odiaria 5:50
05. Let's Do It 4:51
06. Halleluyah! 5:03
07. Love Affair (Sol Power All-Stars Rework) 6:50

Backing Vocals – Akin Nathan, Roy Spiff
Bass [Fender], Percussion – Ottay Hima Blackie
Congas – Friday Pozo
Gong – Moscow Egbe
Guitar, Vocals – Samuel Abiloye (Spark)
Keyboards, Vocals – Jonnie Woode Olima
Lead Vocals, Talking Drum, Percussion – Bolla Prince Agba
Trombone – Fred Fisher
Trumpet – Ignace De Souza, Sharp Mike
Written-By, Composed By, Backing Vocals – SJOB Movement

SJOB Movement’s Friendship Train was the second LP by the group and one which saw the group rise to new heights. It’s a masterpiece of African music with it’s fluid afro beat grooves and spaced out Moog synthesizer sounds.
Here is an excerpt from the liner notes written and researched by Uchenna Ikonne: “Prince Bola Agbana might hardly be the most immediately recognizable name in the constellation of Nigerian music stars, but for a significant portion of the last half-century he labored in the shadows, dutifully serving as one of the key movers in its development: An in-demand session musician. An early and respected exponent of funk. A catalyst in the retrofit of juju into a modern pop genre. Most of all, though, he is recognized as the founder, leader, drummer…
and principal vocalist of the SJOB Movement.
SJOB: Sam, Johnnie, Ottah, Bola. For a moment in the mid-1970s, they were le dernier cri in modern Nigerian music, representing the next step in the evolution of afro rhythms, and a new paradigm for the band economy. Their first album, 1976’s A Move in the Right Direction, was a minor sensation and was swiftly followed by Friendship Train in 1977. Then it appeared that the movement stopped moving, and SJOB disappeared from the scene.”